Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Master socket is quite old, when I remove the face panel there is no engineers test socket, also removing ...

    1. #1
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master Socket

      My Master socket is quite old, when I remove the face panel there is no engineers test socket, also removing the face panel I still have a dial tone on all of my phones, is this right?

      Is this my master socket, I presume so. Also does it look right?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Master Socket-dsc00207.jpg   Master Socket-dsc00206.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      It is a Master faceplate, but whether it is the Master socket is not so clear. I would expect to see the drop line from the main line and extension wires going out to your extensions in the Master. There only appears to be one wire going into the box. Can you trace the main line into the house and see which socket it goes to first, this should be the Master. You might also want to remove the faceplates on your other boxes and see what they look like.

      It would be normal for the extensions to be active with that type of faceplate. The NTE5's face plate plugs into the Test/Main socket, when it is removed, the extensions should be dead. Yours is a LJU2/1A Master, like This which does not disconnect the extensions.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Need to trace that cable back to where it enters the building & where it goes. That's a master socket but whether that is the first socket on the line we do not know.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Master Socket

      the back box looks newish and the wire look recent to me so it is nost proboably not a master because im sure master one bt put in has screw connections and dont connect the green and some didnt connect the orange

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by skypaulusplus View Post
      the back box looks newish and the wire look recent to me so it is nost proboably not a master because im sure master one bt put in has screw connections and dont connect the green and some didnt connect the orange
      BT have used all types over the years. To the OP-what is it you are trying to acheive? I'm guessing you want an NTE5 connected directly to BT's network so you can see if your extension wiring is slowing things down?

      If that is the only master it looks like BT have used one cable as there are no other wires terminated to the IDC block? So that cable must run elsewhere if you also have extensions?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      I think there are 2 possibilities, the box shown is the last extension on a 'daisy chain' from the Master or all the extensions have been wired 'spider wise' from a junction box. Few engineers would bother connecting, 1,4 and 6 terminals, as they have no use on a domestic installation. Older 'heads' may do it for the sake of a tidy finish.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Yep, nail & head We need to clarify what the OP is trying to acheive though.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION