Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Faceplate help!

    This is a discussion on Faceplate help! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been reading around here for a while and eventually plucked up the courage to try and remove the front ...

    1. #1
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faceplate help!

      I've been reading around here for a while and eventually plucked up the courage to try and remove the front plate and try the master socket.

      However, I removed the front plate and it was just a load of wires behind! There was no front plate and I have noticed there is no bt logo on it either! House is around 20-25 years old, should I have a master socket, and if not how can I get one?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      Also, let me add, that there is a seperate telephone socket in a bedroom upstairs, and from that an extension is run with another socket next to my laptop from which the broadband is connected!

      current stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 792 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 26.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 9.5 db

      Should I be receiving better speed? Thanks

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      Can you post up a pic of what you have? You can easily get an NTE5 but officially you are not supposed to replace what is there, plenty of people do this though. Is it feasible to run a new extension from the master socket location to where the router is?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      I've put it back together for now!

      I literally unscrewed it and there was a hole in the wall from where I presume the main wiring was wired to my telephone socket, loads of wires!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      unless it looks like this...



      then you don't have a test socket (the one inside the socket after removing the bottom section)...in which case age of wiring might be holding you back...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      Sounds like you haven't got an NTE5, best solution would be to fit an NTE5 and run an ADSL extension to where your router is, failing that fitting the latest generation NTE5 with or without the NTE2000/2005 faceplate will probably improve things.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      It definately isn't one of those, there is no 'bottom half' to remove so to speak!

      Is it easy to fit an NTE5 from the current setup or does it need an engineer? And looking at the stats, do you think its worth it? Will i get an increase in speed?

      Thanks

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      With your internal wiring sorted out, you may get 6-7Mbs. Unfortunately, without being able to get a reading from the main line in,ie, the test socket, no one could say for sure. If you feel up to it you could disconnect the extensions at the master socket, then do a test. Removing the ring wire from terminal 3 on the master socket may give you an immediate improvement. It is not required when using filters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Faceplate help!

      Quote Originally Posted by harj View Post
      It definately isn't one of those, there is no 'bottom half' to remove so to speak!

      Is it easy to fit an NTE5 from the current setup or does it need an engineer? And looking at the stats, do you think its worth it? Will i get an increase in speed?

      Thanks

      Yes very easy, two wires to connect! As stated technically you are not supposed to but you are unlikely to get into any trouble. BT/Openreach only get upset when someone fits the incorect type of socket. The only way to find out if your stats would improve would be to try it, as you have extensions running to where your router is the chances are the NTE5 that we sell with the bell wire filter would improve things.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION