Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Cable between faceplate and router

    This is a discussion on Cable between faceplate and router within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm not sure what the technical name for it is, but the cable between the faceplate and the router - ...

    1. #1
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cable between faceplate and router

      I'm not sure what the technical name for it is, but the cable between the faceplate and the router - does the quality of this have an impact on syncronisation speeds?

      I have seen a cheap Belkin cable that has 'gold plated connectors' - does this make any difference?



      Also, is the length of the cable important? I only need 1.5m, whereas the one I'm looking at is 7.7m.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      Save your money and don't bother

    4. #3
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Save your money and don't bother
      Thanks Brian! Are you saying Belkin are nothing special, or that the quality of the wire doesn't have an impact on syncronisation speeds?

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      The belkin is nothing special. If you have the tools, the best thing to try is a single twisted pair from an old cat5 patch cable. As you have a filter faceplate a RJ45 plug on one end (use the centre pair) and a RJ11 on the other (centre pair again). If this does not make any differance to your sync speed, then no other cable will.
      Lots of these cables make a big thing about them being screened, but as the screening is not earthed it is a waste of time.
      Last edited by Brian69; 26-10-08 at 07:49 AM.

    6. #5
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      Not to mention that the belkin cable is also wired as two side-by-side pairs so the two center conductors (used for ADSL) are not actually a pair the signal is going down two halves of a pair making it worse than a normal flat cable.
      adslnation

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      adslnation faceplates are rj11 to rj11 (well, mine is!!)

      and looking at that belkin cable - the fact it's 25ft long is a reason not to buy it!! lol!!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      adslnation faceplates are rj11 to rj11 (well, mine is!!)

      and looking at that belkin cable - the fact it's 25ft long is a reason not to buy it!! lol!!!
      Yeah it's normal to use RJ11 plugs for this application, but filter faceplates (ADSL Nation XTE-2005 and BT type) will accept RJ45 plugs in the router connection.
      As I don't like the nasty little RJ11 plugs, I use an RJ45 whenever possible

    9. #8
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable between faceplate and router

      Yes both the XTE-2005 and the Pressac (BT) faceplates have an RJ45 connector. The RJ type connector is modular, meaning that you can plug the smaller plugs into the larger sockets. In this case you can connect an RJ11 plug into the RJ-45 socket on the faceplate.

      The reason an RJ45 socket is provided is that in a structured cable environment where you have an RJ45 patch panel you can use an ordinary CAT5 patch cable to connect from the ADSL port to the extension port you require.
      adslnation

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION