Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Advice please

    This is a discussion on Advice please within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I have purchased an ADSL faceplate and need a little help with installation. When removing the NTE5 faceplate ...

    1. #1
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice please

      Hi all
      I have purchased an ADSL faceplate and need a little help with installation.
      When removing the NTE5 faceplate I see that all six 'blocks' are wired up.
      Do I just follow the instructions and swap wires 2,3 and 5?
      What are wires 1 & 6 for?
      I have included a pic (sorry about the quality). As you can see there are two hardwired extensions (I think!!)
      Thanks
      Jeff
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Advice please-image_013.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      Before you start, just check that you only have a dial tone at the test socket, and not at the faceplate or any other extensions, If all is well then it's 2 to 2 3 to 3 and 5 to 5.

      The wires on 1 6 and 4 have no use in domestic wiring, and you may leave them disconnected

    4. #3
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      Ok, so I remove the faceplate and plug a phone (and filter) into the test socket and check for dialtone, and that there are no dialtones on other extentions?
      Sorry to sound a bit thick!!
      Jeff

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      (1) Remove faceplate as in photo.

      (2) plug phone into the test socket, there should be a dial tone.

      (3) with the faceplate still removed, check extensions, there should be no dial tone.

      If all is well, fit filter face plate, if not post back.

    6. #5
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      Brian
      Everything seems to be fine so will fit the faceplate when I get time.
      Thanks for your help.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      Good, it is well worth doing this check as if there is a problem the filter faceplate would give disapointing results

    8. #7
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      I've fitted the faceplate and everything seems to be running smoothly.
      The problem I have now is that the nearest electrical socket to the phone socket has a door frame in between it!!
      So I need a 7 metre RJ11 cable to run round the door frame to the router.
      I have found this Belkin High Speed Internet Modem Cable RJ11 Male to RJ11 Male 7.5m: Electronics & Photo: Amazon.co.uk which is probably the best cable for the job, but which will look unsightly.
      So i then found this Homestead - ADSL Cables - RJ11 to RJ11 Cables Which seems to be the same type of cable that comes with the modem, and will obviously look better.
      Basically I would like to know if the second cable be acceptable for the job in hand, or are there any better alternatives.
      Thanks
      Jeff

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      The best ADSL cables are the pro range from ADSL Nation. The Belkin ones very poor as they have "spilt pairs", that is the line pair is formed from one line of two sperate pairs of wires, rather than a complete pair
      Last edited by Brian69; 10-10-08 at 10:47 PM.

    10. #9
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      I have looked at those, but it means I would have to buy a 7m cable, connectors and crimper tool which seems a lot of hassle.
      Just wandering if I could get a ready made 7m solution which the Homestead ones seemed to offer

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Advice please

      Yes they look o.k, and if you can get it made to the right length, fine

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION