Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 64

    BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

    This is a discussion on BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I recently unscrewed the faceplate of my master socket, and was surprised to find out that it wasn't connected to ...

    1. #1
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      I recently unscrewed the faceplate of my master socket, and was surprised to find out that it wasn't connected to anything on the back plate i.e. like this:



      Is this normal? Under what circumstances would wires be connected to the faceplate?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      O.K Now you have removed the faceplate, is there a dial tone at the test socket (the socket that remains on the wall)?

    4. #3
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      O.K Now you have removed the faceplate, is there a dial tone at the test socket (the socket that remains on the wall)?
      Do you mean a dialtone on the phone connected to this socket? If so, yes there is.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      In that case the wire which is connected to the removeable part connects to extension sockets which you have. Please check the following.

      (1) With the faceplate removed, check that there is no dial tone at any other telephone sockets there may be. Also if you have an alarm system, check that it shows the phone line is disconnected with the faceplate removed.

    6. #5
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Thanks for your reply. The telephone upstairs still has a dialtone. My alarm system is not connected to the telephone.

      I've just read the following in the tutorial - All of your extension sockets in the house are wired into this faceplate so these will no longer work while the faceplate is removed.

      All of my wiring is visible behind the backplate?

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      If you have a dial tone at the test socket, and with the test socket still exposed, you have a dial tone at the extension, it means that the extension is incorrectly connected. All extension sockets should be dead when the faceplate is removed. It is a good thing you have found this problem now before you switch to Sky.
      If you feel you can correct this yourself, then post back for more info, if not you will need to get this sorted.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      The frontplate is not wired to the back plate. The connection is made through the Test socket. The wires connected to the back of the faceplate should be going to your extensions. With the plate in the position shown in your picture, do you have a dial tone on any of your extensions? If there is, your wiring is incorrect and should be fixed ASAP.

      You can quite safely remove the wire from terminal 3 on the faceplate. This is the ring wire and can cause interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      If you have a dial tone at the test socket, and with the test socket still exposed, you have a dial tone at the extension, it means that the extension is incorrectly connected. All extension sockets should be dead when the faceplate is removed. It is a good thing you have found this problem now before you switch to Sky.
      If you feel you can correct this yourself, then post back for more info, if not you will need to get this sorted.
      I'm confused now - my internet is working, and has been for the last 2 years with no problems at all.

      Why would there be a problem when I switch to Sky?

      I'm starting to wish I hadn't asked now! Seriously though, your help is really appreciated.

    10. #9
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The frontplate is not wired to the back plate. The connection is made through the Test socket. The wires connected to the back of the faceplate should be going to your extensions. With the plate in the position shown in your picture, do you have a dial tone on any of your extensions? If there is, your wiring is incorrect and should be fixed ASAP.

      You can quite safely remove the wire from terminal 3 on the faceplate. This is the ring wire and can cause interference.
      With the faceplate off, I have a dialtone on the extension upstairs. There are no wires attached to the faceplate, but I can see a few wires going to the backplate.

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Because you will be on ADSL2+ for faster speeds. It is very fussy about internal wireing. Can we confirm that with the faceplate removed and the test socket exposed, you still have a dial tone at the extension?

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION