Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 64

    BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

    This is a discussion on BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Looks perfectly normal to me, try plugging a phone into the test socket (onthe part screwed to the wall) and ...

    1. #31
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Looks perfectly normal to me, try plugging a phone into the test socket (onthe part screwed to the wall) and you should get a dial tone.
      The wires connected to the faceplate go to your extensions, you could take the opportunity of removing the connections to pins 3 and 4 as these are not needed and could slow down your broadband connection.
      BTW the wire from the outside world will be hidden in the back of the socket, you would have to take the whole thing off the wall to see them.

      Admin note: post moved from a duplicate thread by Burnley Lad that has been closed. Therefore it would have been written without sight of the above posts. That's why duplicate threads are such a pain.
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-10-08 at 05:27 PM.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Admin note: post moved from a duplicate thread by Burnley Lad that has been closed. Therefore it would have been written without sight of the above posts. That's why duplicate threads are such a pain.
      I'm sorry, but when I clicked on 'submit' when I originally posted, I got a 'this page cannot be displayed' message, so assumed that it hadn't posted correctly.

    4. #33
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      You can get a BT filter faceplate from RUN-IT-DIRECT and mention this site, or from ADSL Nation.
      Thanks for the recommendations - I've just ordered the XTE-2005 faceplate from ADSL Nation, and at the same time one of those idc tools for 60p.

    5. #34
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      I ment to ask this, now you have the extension disconnected have your existing router stats changed. I remember that you sync at around 8meg,so your speed may not have changed, but has the noise margin or the attenuation?

    6. #35
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      I ment to ask this, now you have the extension disconnected have your existing router stats changed. I remember that you sync at around 8meg,so your speed may not have changed, but has the noise margin or the attenuation?
      good question, I've just checked now - these were my stats this afternoon:

      Connection Speed 7968 kbps - downstream, 672 kbps - upstream
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db - downstream, 15.0 db - upstream
      Noise Margin 13.3 db - downstream, 13.0 db - upstream


      and now, they are:

      Connection Speed 8032 kbps - downstream, 640 kbps - upstream
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db - downstream, 14.5 db - upstream
      Noise Margin 11.8 db - downstream, 13.0 db - upstream

      I don't really understand these stats - are they better or worse?

    7. #36
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Ah great, a slight increase in speed and everthing else broadly the same. looking good The XTE-2005 comes with full instructions, but if you decide to keep your extension, your wire colours will not match the ones given. Don't worry just connect 2 to 2 and 5 to 5. you are also missing a ring line but this should not be a problem with a modern phone. If you find that after replaceing the extension socket and fitting the filter faceplate, the extension phone does not ring, just connect it using the filter you use at present at the extension and all will be well

    8. #37
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Ah great, a slight increase in speed and everthing else broadly the same. looking good The XTE-2005 comes with full instructions, but if you decide to keep your extension, your wire colours will not match the ones given. Don't worry just connect 2 to 2 and 5 to 5. you are also missing a ring line but this should not be a problem with a modern phone. If you find that after replaceing the extension socket and fitting the filter faceplate, the extension phone does not ring, just connect it using the filter you use at present at the extension and all will be well
      great stuff! I've decided to get rid of the extension - as I said earlier today, I rarely use it.

      Thanks!

    9. #38
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      Brian - I was thinking this morning. What's the significance of the two short strips of wire that are in my extension socket (they are both about 3cm long, red and white stripes, 'connected' to 3 and 5, but not connected to anything else).

      Also - you mentioned earlier in this thread about the possibility of installing a proper extension socket, rather than what I have now i.e. what looks like another master socket. What are the advantages of doing this, and is it something I could do myself?

    10. #39
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      During yesterday, I avoided dealing with the state of your extension wiring, my main concern was to get it disconnected to ensure you get the bet you can from sky. But as you have asked.

      (1) The extension wiring at the master socket is the incorrect type, and was wired incorrectly. The socket used for the extension is a master (also incorrect) and its effect on ADSL2+ can only be cause the line to sync lower than it otherwise would. (This additional master threw me a bit, I was unsure which was the true master and this is the reason I kept banging on about ensuring a dial tone at the downstairs test socket and nowhere else)

      (2) My advice if you wish to keep the socket up-stairs is to start again from scratch. That is, run a new cable from your soon-to-be-fitted filter faceplate, to a new extension socket.

      You can do this yourself and if you want details post back.

    11. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT NTE faceplate - mine's not connected to anything?

      A couple of things to consider. The extension was connected directly to the A-B terminals in the Master line box. The other end of this extension must be connected to the A-B terminals of the extension line box.

      It looks like whoever did the extension originally fitted the wires to the front terminals, found it did not work, cut them off and connected them to the A-B terminals. Hence the 2 short pieces of wire left in the IDC connectors.

      Where does the extension connected to the front of the Master socket faceplate go? There must be another extension box somewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION