Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

    This is a discussion on Wierd master socket location.... help needed! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Don't worry, (1) Fit ADSL filter faceplate to the master socket in your loft. (2) Plug the splitter that was ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      Don't worry,

      (1) Fit ADSL filter faceplate to the master socket in your loft.

      (2) Plug the splitter that was in the master, into the phone socket of the filter faceplate. this will provide for your sky box and phones.

      (3) run a good quality extension (RJ11 to RJ11) from the router socket on the filter faceplate, to the router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      msjones's Avatar
      msjones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Pinxton, Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      OK, i will give this a bash in the morning. Thanks for you help. Ill let you know how I get on!

      Matt

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      Thats o.k Matt I'm sure it will be worthwhile.

    5. #14
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      put adsl nation face plate on nte5 master-socket in loft, put splitter for extention and sky box as currently used into telephone side of face-plate,
      purchase extended router ethernet cable to connect to adsl side of face-plate and run this down through ceiling to room with pc and router
      router cables can run upto 30 or 40 meters without loss of signal ( i believe)


      edit
      hadn't noticed brian69 had given almost same info 3 posts above sorry for repeat
      Last edited by nodrog; 14-08-08 at 11:02 PM.

    6. #15
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      Just to reiterate that ready made cables are made from flexible stranded wire so don't attempt to cut any plugs of of a ready made cable to connect to the IDC terminals on a faceplate.

      Either use a ready made cable of the correct length to plug into the front of the faceplate or buy the bare wire that will be solid core wire for use with the IDC terminals on the rear.

      It sounds like you have two options...

      The first is described above, fitting the XTE-2005 filtered faceplate on to your master socket in the loft. Then plug the existing extension into the phone outlet on the front of the faceplate and those extensions will work fine for phones and your sky box. Also use a ready made RJ11 cable of the appropriate length to go from the ADSL outlet on the faceplate to the router. IDeally use a good quality twisted pair cable rather than a cheap flat type. The only shortcoming of this would be that the RJ11 cable goes straight into the router so you won't be able to connect a phone there.

      The second option if you would like to use a phone next to the router is to install the XTF filter that you have by the router and run a length of cable from the unfiltered IDC terminals on the back of the XTE-2005 to the XTF. Again ideally use a twisted pair cable such as CW1308. This set-up would give you both broadband and phone connections at that point.

      Obviously the first option is easier as it doesn't involve any wiring.
      adslnation

    7. #16
      msjones's Avatar
      msjones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Pinxton, Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      well before I started to make any alterations I removed the double splitter from the master socket and plugged in only the extension.

      When i rebooted the router my connection speed went up to 15575kbps.

      So now I dont have the skybox plugged into the phone line, is this a major problem? We have had it installed for over a year a now.

      Thanks

    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      I honestly can't remember the time scale for the phone line requirement on the box? They were subsidised hence the need for interactive services via the phone line, i have a feeling this maybe for the term of your contract and not just 12 months. If everything is wired up correctly with decent faceplates etc there is no problem having it connected. Are you sure a reboot hasn't just resulted in a re sync and better speeds? Does the speed drop back down if the sky box is connected?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      Sky Box Connection To Phone Is 12 Months For First Box In Home Any Multi-room Boxes Have To Be Connected At All Times To Conform With Multi-room T & C's

    10. #19
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Wierd master socket location.... help needed!

      Did you have an ADSL filter on the skybox?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION