Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    telephone wiring

    This is a discussion on telephone wiring within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HE HE...I couldn't resist taking a look inside either (I felt like a member of the bomb squad or something!). ...

    1. #11
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      HE HE...I couldn't resist taking a look inside either (I felt like a member of the bomb squad or something!). sad...but true


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      Hang on a minute...if none of you guys knew what was inside "THE BOX", then why'd you tell me to open it? I COULD HAVE GOTTEN MY FACE BLOWN OFF OR SOMETHING!

      ha ha, cheers guys!

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      Then again you might have won the 50K

      If it were me, I would take the incoming wires and connect them to A-B in the Master socket. Make the junction box redundant.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      I've just taken a closer look at "THE BOX" and there's a big juicy cable attached to the bottom of it which seems to lead underground. I'm guessing this is the MAIN telephone line from which others can connect, via the box). My incoming main wire is connected to the box which then leads inside my flat to my master socket (it's connected to points A&B).

      By the way Brian, you seemed quite excited to see what was inside the box, so if you'd like me to send you a much larger photo of what I found inside then just ask o.k...purely for "reference purposes" of course

      Ha ha, I can't even remember what my own thread was about now!

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: telephone wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by diverse180 View Post
      HE HE...I couldn't resist taking a look inside either (I felt like a member of the bomb squad or something!). sad...but true
      Cut the Blue wire, the Red one is rigged to blow if cut.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      Just cut off the grey cable, put the top back on the box, and forget you ever started this, no it has nothing to do with the line you now use, will not increase your line speed,

      I must admit the inside was a bit of a flop, very boring

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: telephone wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      My wife says this site is full of sad old gits who would be better using the internet rather than worrying about speeds!!.

      I have decided to swap her for a new router
      Hark at her, she must be posh, having a PC in the kitchen.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring


    10. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      I even got up early to see what was in the box
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #20
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone wiring

      Sorry it was a bit of a let down fellas...but at least now we know what's inside THE BOX

      Before I put the cover back on I'm going to remove the fax line and also replace my main telephone wire that leads from it to my master. I know I shouldn't really touch my master line, but it's in pretty bad shape and has a few kinks (90 degree ones!). Some of the staples that hold the wire to the wall look as though they've gone through the wire too, so its probably worth doing.
      I've got a reel of solid core Cat5e cable, would that be a better option than plain old telephone cable?

      Hmmm, maybe I'll also pack a little TNT inside the box when I'm done...just so the next person who opens it finds something a bit more exciting

      Thanks guys

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION