Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed Issue with XTE-2005

    This is a discussion on Speed Issue with XTE-2005 within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, ive just got my xte-2005 in the post today and ive just plugged it in and im having speed ...

    1. #1
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      Hello,

      ive just got my xte-2005 in the post today and ive just plugged it in and im having speed issues..

      heres my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1824 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 13.0 db


      without the xte-2005 i was getting this

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2528 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      What do you get plugged into the test socket, and have you wired anything to the A and B terminals of the XTE? If so remove them and try again.


    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      What do you get plugged into the test socket, and have you wired anything to the A and B terminals of the XTE? If so remove them and try again.
      i havent wired anything because its in my master...

    5. #4
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      ive got it up to 2304kbps but nm still high..


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2304 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 13.0 db

    6. #5
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      A high noise margin is because the router has syncronised at a lower speed resulting in more margin being available.

      It is the way ADSL Max works it will try and connect at the highest possible speed with a target noise margin of typically 6db. If the margin drops below 6 the line will re-sync and connect at a slower speed. It should also re-sync at a higher speed if there is excess margin available. So it looks basically like you are getting the same results as previously and eventually it will sync closer to 6db and the speed will go up.

      As you don't have any extension wiring then you have little to gain in fitting a faceplate as the key advantage of a faceplate is isolating the extension wiring that usually picks up interference.
      adslnation

    7. #6
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by adslnation View Post
      A high noise margin is because the router has syncronised at a lower speed resulting in more margin being available.

      It is the way ADSL Max works it will try and connect at the highest possible speed with a target noise margin of typically 6db. If the margin drops below 6 the line will re-sync and connect at a slower speed. It should also re-sync at a higher speed if there is excess margin available. So it looks basically like you are getting the same results as previously and eventually it will sync closer to 6db and the speed will go up.

      As you don't have any extension wiring then you have little to gain in fitting a faceplate as the key advantage of a faceplate is isolating the extension wiring that usually picks up interference.
      well earlier i did sync at 2528... but at the moment...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2144 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 14.0 db

    8. #7
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      Seems like your ISP may have changed your target margin from 6 to 9db.
      adslnation

    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue with XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by adslnation View Post
      Seems like your ISP may have changed your target margin from 6 to 9db.
      thanks alot.... you was right

      i got it lowered and its done the trick

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION