Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Confused about my master socket..

    This is a discussion on Confused about my master socket.. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hiya, iv just today ordered a xte adslnation faceplate which "should" be arriving tomorrow, ive just had the faceplate off ...

    1. #1
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Confused about my master socket..

      hiya, iv just today ordered a xte adslnation faceplate which "should" be arriving tomorrow, ive just had the faceplate off my nte5 master socket (its not a bt adsl faceplate) and it has 2 sets of 3 idc connections. 1 2 3 4 5 and 6, my extensions are wired in the exact way as described in this


      Colour Terminal
      Green with White band 1 (or not connected)
      Blue with White band 2 (line 'B' leg)
      Orange with White band 3 (bell wire for ringing circuit)
      White with Orange band 4 (or not connected)
      White with Blue band 5 (line 'A' leg)
      White with Green band 6 (or not connected)

      am i right in thinking that when i get my adsl nation faceplate i only connect wires to 2 and 5? if so what do i do with the other wires?

      im sooo confused! thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my master socket..

      The wires from 2 go to 2 on the new faceplate 3 to 3 and 5 to 5 .
      All the others you just coil up and push them back inside the master socket. All this is made clear in the instructions.

    4. #3
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my master socket..

      cheers matey, im well ahead of myself! id have known this when i get the instructions then! cheers

    5. #4
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my master socket..

      just fitted the new faceplate and made myself a short adsl cable using high quality cable.
      the snr before when i had my speed uncapped was around 4-5, now using the faceplate it is:

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Line Coding: Trellis On
      Status: No Defect

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 16382 765

      SNR Margin (dB): 7.9 12.0
      Attenuation (dB): 21.0 8.9
      Output Power (dBm): 12.8 0.0


      Super Frames: 301046 301044
      Super Frame Errors: 151 1
      RS Words: 41544378 5117748
      RS Correctable Errors: 36 1
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 0 N/A

      HEC Errors: 0 0
      OCD Errors: 0 0
      LCD Errors: 0 0
      Total Cells: 186968624 8967393
      Data Cells: 727308 91668
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      Total ES: 4 1
      Total SES: 3 0
      Total UAS: 20 429


      well well well impressed with it and i recommend everyone who is having low snr/adsl problems to get one

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my master socket..

      Jolly Good.
      As you make your own leads, use a RJ45 for the filter end, much better fit than those nasty RJ11

    7. #6
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my master socket..

      the rj11 plugs ive got seem to be wider than usual so the fit isnt a problem, if it ever does become a problem il take your advice!! im loving the speed with the newsgroups at the moment!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION