Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Faulty faceplate?

    This is a discussion on Faulty faceplate? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy it will work, but as phone only - unless you run a dedicated extention for BB ...

    1. #11
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it will work, but as phone only - unless you run a dedicated extention for BB but tbh you're better off running your router directly into it...the other extentions then don't need filters...
      Which is easy enough done if you have a power socket in a convenient place near your master socket (I don't), and your PC(s) are wireless - in my case I have four computers/three computers and a lan hard drive running off the router, none of which are wireless (and I'm too tight to buy adapters for them all).

      Sky would like everyone to be plugged into the master socket as it makes life easier for their customer services to resolve any problems you may be having, and in fact I have been told several times that they will not provide support if you use an extension, but as I pointed out - this is not mentioned before you have signed up with them, and how many people line in an ideal world?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      yes regarding the ease of location, but im not wireless...ethernet to 4 rooms in my house to wall mounted rj45 sockets...no half measures for me!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      And what sort of atitude is that Stumpy!!. You should be ready to tear down walls, what ever it takes to get those cables through

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      lol...(can't tell if that was a dig at me or not )
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      No digs at anyone, just having a bit of fun

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      hehe...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      hehe. Actually, another way round it, in my case, was to have the router in its normal place, but have a VERY long cable from the master socket to the router - all my computers are in one room, so rather than having all their cables going to the router, I'd only have one cable to the router.

      However, I've already got a really long cable from the faceplate to the router - its called an EXTENSION

    9. #18
      vrc's Avatar
      vrc
      vrc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      Right, I've ordered this faceplate and after reading up on it, I believe I have to connect any ADSL extensions to the A and B sockets instead of 2,3,5 etc. (unfiltered) My question is which wires exactly would have to go into A and B?

    10. #19
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      The wires from the extension cable that you wish to use with your router. There should be a little leaflet with it, but if not, the instructions should be the same as here:

      http://www.adslnation.com/downloads/...2005_Guide.pdf

    11. #20
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Faulty faceplate?

      Quote Originally Posted by vrc View Post
      Right, I've ordered this faceplate and after reading up on it, I believe I have to connect any ADSL extensions to the A and B sockets instead of 2,3,5 etc. (unfiltered) My question is which wires exactly would have to go into A and B?
      So your running a hard wired extension from the faceplate to an extension socket for your router? You should ideally terminate this wire to an RJ11 socket(or RJ45). The center pair of an RJ11 cable is what terminates to the A & B unfiltered pins if you are running a cable that is terminated with an RJ11 plug at one end(to plug into your router). Make sense?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION