Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Faulty Internal Wiring

    This is a discussion on Faulty Internal Wiring within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I,ve recently experienced problems with mw broadband speeds and BT line quality (house is a new build couple of years ...

    1. #1
      bughead's Avatar
      bughead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faulty Internal Wiring

      I,ve recently experienced problems with mw broadband speeds and BT line quality (house is a new build couple of years old)

      BT engineer has called and upgraded the faceplate to an ADSL, telling me the internal wiring is at fault - when the master socket is used no problems are detected. He tells me if I connect using a wireless connection, plugging the router directly into the new socket the faulty wiring will be bypassed.

      This advice appears to be crap as the extensions as far as I can see are connected to the new facplate.

      Is ther a means to check which extension is at fault or do I need someone qualified to check the internal wiring

      cheers

      tom


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      if you get a better connection in your 'test' socket then in your master then that'll prove your internal wiring to be at fault...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      If you are still experiencing problems after they have fitted an ADSL faceplate then check that they have only connected wires from the extensions to pins 2 and 5 of the faceplate because other connections from the extension wiring may cause problems.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Hi Tom.
      The BT guy was right, if a filter faceplate cures the problem then the fault lies with your internal wiring. Where that fault lies within the wiring, or if it is the wiring itself (many new homes have their telephone sockets wired by site electricians with the wrong type of cable which works for telephony but not for broadband) is anyones guess.
      If you have a filter faceplate do not remove the ring wire (the one connected to 3 on the faceplate) many modern telephones require this to operate correctly, not just old dial phones.

    6. #5
      bughead's Avatar
      bughead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Folks thanks for the help, the only way I can get a connection is to remove the wiring from the back of the facplate i.e all 3 and have a pnone and the router connected to the faceplate.

      This appears to disconnect the internal phone sockets/wiring and resolves the issue. Everthing has prev been working fine for about 12 mths and the fault has only recently developed, I,ve prev consulted the site and removed the no. 3 ring wire from all the sockets and the speed doubled, but now its crashed.

      Is there anyway of cheking what it is or do I need an electrician ?


      cheers

      tom

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      If you are using a filter faceplate at the master (the one with two sockets for router and phone) and this works with your internal wiring disconnected, then look for a fault with the internal wiring. As you have been at your sockets to dissconnect the ring wire, I would check them to ensure that all secure. As you are now using a filter faceplate and I assume no other plug in filters, you may need to re-connect the ring line so that your phones operate correctly.

    8. #7
      bughead's Avatar
      bughead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Thanks for the advice

      Sorry for bugging you, do I need to reconnect the no. 3 at all my extension faceplates now I have a filtered faceplate fitted or just at the master socket

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Yes all the sockets. sorry. While you are at it have a look at them and make sure all the connections are firm and not loose in any way.

    10. #9
      bughead's Avatar
      bughead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Regards the filtered master faceplate, SKY tell me I still need filters at all other extension facplates I,m using, is this the case

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Faulty Internal Wiring

      Not if you pre-filter from the main socket.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION