Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    problem with noise margin

    This is a discussion on problem with noise margin within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all im still new here so please go easy i got an small poblem that if i plug rounter ...

    1. #1
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      problem with noise margin

      hi all

      im still new here so please go easy

      i got an small poblem that if i plug rounter into master box i get low noise margin 10-7.i removed bottom half and pluged into test port and get 15.3 nosie margin

      stats

      i've done test plug test this is result first normally pluged in (master box)
      down up
      connection speed 12479 574
      line attenuation 29 14.2
      noise margin 10.4 21.0

      now as of right now pluged via "test" socket (master box)
      down up
      connection speed 12479 574
      line attenuation 29 14.2
      noise margin 15.3 21

      now in my other post i was told to removed ring wire (connection 3)(and find help in this section ) i did so and it fixed it for few mins then it gone down to 13.8(so far stable) do you think this is ok ?? or should i look at rerun new cable to extension ?? (rounter is always pluged into master box)or would an filter plate thing i see ppl buying help ? or both?. thing is i was connected at rounter over 14meg first day going "live" then it droped to now 12479 i know this is good speed but i would like the 2 meg back just becuz im obessted with speed i know i won't get full download speed of rounter connection any ideas or help welcomed .....pleaseee

      thanks for yr time

      Gavin
      Last edited by nitromad; 10-05-08 at 04:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      anything above, and staying above, 7 is fine...the fact yours is high is due t the cap...

      no idea why they capped the upstream though, seems to be a bit of a habit these days...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      Hi Gavin.
      If you are obssesed with getting the best speed/stability that your line can support, there is one sure way.

      (1) Get a filter faceplate

      (2) put your router close to the master socket and connect router to filter with a short cable.

      (3) connect router to pc by cable, this will help you make the most of your connection.

    5. #4
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      ring up sky and get them to uncap you, you will probably get the full 16mb

    6. #5
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      Hi all

      thanks for all help so far i just got off sky they putting my request to uncapping to diffent team and should have call back in 72hrs max now if that happens we'll see lol but they are going to try higher speed by sounds of it

      let u all know and im starting by getting filter plate.

      thanks all
      Gavin

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      they'll cap you further - call back and wait on the phone to speak to CST and have them close of the ticket otherwise you're gonna be frustrated...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: problem with noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      they'll cap you further - call back and wait on the phone to speak to CST and have them close of the ticket otherwise you're gonna be frustrated...
      HI
      thanks for reply i have just rang them again and was put though to CST after quick chat they opened the line up full 16meg was just bit to much for line so they lowered it to stable speed my stats now are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15295 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.3 db
      Noise Margin 10.3 db 13.0 db

      they said to keep watch on it over next hours to days to see if there any poblems and if there is to ring back and they readjust the cap to stable it up.

      so i just see what happens if all ok im an happy chap

      thanks again all btw im getting nation filter plate and found that my chinchillas have found the one and only bit of phone they can chew when out so will be replacing that next few days too.

      Gavin

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION