Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Faceplace replacement/extension

This is a discussion on Faceplace replacement/extension within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Currently I have a master socket just next to the front door, with an extension from that to my computer ...

Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Thanks

Faceplace replacement/extension

Currently I have a master socket just next to the front door, with an extension from that to my computer room. I realise thats "bad" but it was something I discovered well after joining Sky and didn't know there was a problem with it before then.

Up til now ... well over a year, I've not had any major problems with it ... I've tried it both on the extension and, with various wires trailing everywhere in a temporary set-up, on the master socket as well, with no difference in speed.

Recently I started getting slower and slower speeds, and disconnections and, after several hours on the phone to Sky, a lot of frustration and quite a bit of misguided advice from Sky customer support, I've finally discovered that it seems my face plate is broken. Despite having checked the test socket previously and finding no difference in (slow) speeds, today when I checked, after a bit of fiddling from the Sky guy, I got a huge speed boost (double what I've ever had before).