Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Fitting a new Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Fitting a new Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. The incoming line (the one from the street) connects to A and B of the NTE-5 master It does ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Hi.
      The incoming line (the one from the street) connects to A and B of the NTE-5 master It does not matter about polarity, but the line to A should be positive (measure across the line 50-55V DC)
      The other wire sounds like an extension, and this is connected to the IDC connectors on the faceplate. The colours may not be what you expect if it is old cable, just make sure that 2 connects to 2 on the extension 5 to 5.
      If you are not going to use a filter faceplate, then do not connect anything to 3 and, in anycase do not connect anything to 4

      Your old master is a LJ4 with a 35mm box. The NTE-5 needs a larger box, so you may need to fit it in a new spot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      BLUEBELT's Avatar
      BLUEBELT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: want Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi.
      The incoming line (the one from the street) connects to A and B of the NTE-5 master It does not matter about polarity, but the line to A should be positive (measure across the line 50-55V DC)
      The other wire sounds like an extension, and this is connected to the IDC connectors on the faceplate. The colours may not be what you expect if it is old cable, just make sure that 2 connects to 2 on the extension 5 to 5.
      If you are not going to use a filter faceplate, then do not connect anything to 3 and, in anycase do not connect anything to 4

      Your old master is a LJ4 with a 35mm box. The NTE-5 needs a larger box, so you may need to fit it in a new spot.
      Thats great! thanks again. I have never had a extension maybe the people in here before us had one fitted but it is not here now, what years did the L14box run for, am I right about my age estimate?

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      From about 1980 so you are not far out.
      If you do not have any extensions, then leave any wires other than the incoming line, dissconnected. If fact it may be a good idea to do this now before you replace anything just to see if they have any effect on your BB

    5. #14
      BLUEBELT's Avatar
      BLUEBELT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: want Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Thanks I will do what you suggest. I will also try to get a picture on to a reply, but having trouble as I have never done this before; but I think I will get there some how Cheers

    6. #15
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      ive just moved my master-socket which is the small non nte5 type which was installed 21 years ago when i first moved into house, my cable came into house upstairs bed room then from a conector box made its way along bedroom wall out into upper hallway then up and around bathroom door into another conector box this time with gpo printed on it then cable came down stairwell and box was at foot of stairs, this meant router was in hallway about 40-50 feet from pc which is in dinningroom in the diagonal opposite corner from where router was wireless connection only allowed 1.5 to 2mb speedtests so now cable enters house still from rear of house but into dinningroom 2 feet from pc lan connection and speedtests now give 14.1mb

      now eleiminated around 40 meters of internal cable

      cable into house is the black external cable with wire running through it for strenth this was fitted about 8 years ago when storms brought down a fence and tele cable with it bt engineer fitted this black cable wires connected were orange and white, at present have had to use old mastersocket but a workmate has a brother with openreach and have asked him to try and get new nte5 backbox and if possible adsl splitter face plate

    7. #16
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Recently saw a post over on thinkbroadband.com that BT will replace the old
      style master socket with an NTE5 for 25 quid + vat. This correct?

    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      See post #6

    9. #18
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Interesting that in the reply in post 6 that bt say that after 12 months the box is yours so the way i take that is do what the hell you like with it. lol change it they wont know anyway. Keep the old one if you do have to get them out just put old one back on.

      Unless brian69 knows of a cheap source of faceplates ;-)
      Last edited by VEG; 24-04-08 at 01:59 PM. Reason: none

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      Hi Veg.
      What Openreach are refering to are the extension sockets and any wiring to them that they may fit. the NTE-5 master (or any other master) always remains their sole preserve.

      If you want to change your master yourself, and you want an Openreach one, then e-bay is full of them but they are either stolen or faulty or both. The best bet is to get one from Maplin, CPC or ADSL Nation, it will not be marked Openreach but if you make a good job of fitting it then BT/Openreach will never know.
      This is against BT T&C's and if you get found out and have to pay hefty charges, don't blame me!!

    11. #20
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fitting a new Master Socket

      But would they be able to tell if "it was fitted before i moved in" ?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION