Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    XTE-2005 faceplate help

    This is a discussion on XTE-2005 faceplate help within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi looking for some help with the XTE-2005 faceplate. I wired this all up for a extention for my skybox. ...

    1. #1
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi looking for some help with the XTE-2005 faceplate. I wired this all up for a extention for my skybox. But when i check the sky box it says phone line not connected. Wires going to 2 &5 on the faceplate

      I have now connected the old faceplate back and it work ok with this.

      Broadband & phone work ok with the XTE-2005 faceplate. Am i doing something wrong.


      thanks
      thescotsman


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Perhaps the wires were not making a good connection. Can you plug a phone into the extension to see if you can hear a dial tone ?
      adslnation

    4. #3
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi i have reconnected the XTE-2005 faceplate making sure wire were connected right, but it still will not work Broadband & phone work great but nothing through the extension cables. I have reconnected the NT5E master and it all work. Only thing i can think of is the XTE-2005 faceplate faulty

      I have ordered a replacement from adslnation . As i need this if i do not use it every time i use the phone the internet goes down.


      cheers
      thescotsman

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi Thescotman.
      It looks like it may be faulty, however one thing occurs, assuming that you have doubled checked the connections at the faceplate, are you using the correct solid core cable for the extension? the IDC's on the ADSL faceplate will only work with the right stuff, where as the NTE faceplate IDC's are a bit tighter.

    6. #5
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi had a bit of spare cable tried putting that into the faceplate goes in ok, but it is not as tight as the other faceplate you can pull them out ever easy.

      The cable i got was from argos comes in a pack with 2 extension boxes and cable that do have sold core cable. do you thing this could be the problem


      cheers
      thescotsman

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi.
      All I can say is that I have fitted loads of filter faceplates, and have never had a faulty one yet, so my money is on the cable. Get some proper stuff (maplin XR66W)

    8. #7
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 faceplate help

      Hi thanks for your help will get some of that cable.


      cheers
      thescotsman

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION