Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

    This is a discussion on BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i used to have the old Oval type master without the test socket which was causing bad dissconnections on ...

    1. #1
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?


      Hi i used to have the old Oval type master without the test socket which was causing bad dissconnections on internet/bad online gaming etc... so i purchased the newer NTE5A box from ebay (above) hoping to getter better stats, but this did not have the screw terminals for the orange/white cables, it had the slotted IDC type which actually caused worse stats than my older master! Would it be better for me to look for a screw type connector for the orange/white cables (like the box in pic below)and if so would this get me a better connection? Also do you know if the BT/openreach branded boxes have this type of connection PS? Thanks in advance
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      IDC are fine, but you do need to be using the proper tool (disposable or permanent). Don't use screwdrivers or any other such thing.

      If you're replacing the faceplate yourself rather than using BT then the ADSLNation gets rave reviews on here. So it can't be that bad


      p.s. - you can grab a disposable tool from the likes of Maplin quick enough.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    4. #3
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Thanks for that info, just strange how my stats have dropped since putting in newer box?? Do ADSL Nation have a ebay site do you know?

      ps Bell wire is been removed and all cables are setup correctly!


      29-3-08 stats
      ADSL Link Downstream / Upstream
      Connection Speed 4716 kbps / 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db / 8 db
      Noise Margin 3 db / 13 db


      Pinging Jolt.co.uk - Online Gaming - Clan Server Rental
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=57
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=57
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=57
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=57

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 30ms, Average = 30ms
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 29-03-08 at 01:17 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Hi Wannabgeek.
      Is the IDC NTE-5 in the pic the one you have fitted in place of your old master? If it is then you should change it as soon as possible. It is one intended for a PBX line and does not contain over volt protection. the master sockets from ADSL Nation are the correct type.
      I am supprised that Netgeezer did not point out that you should not tamper with your master socket as it is against BT T&C'S, but never mind.

    6. #5
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi Wannabgeek.
      Is the IDC NTE-5 in the pic the one you have fitted in place of your old master? If it is then you should change it as soon as possible. It is one intended for a PBX line and does not contain over volt protection. the master sockets from ADSL Nation are the correct type.
      I am supprised that Netgeezer did not point out that you should not tamper with your master socket as it is against BT T&C'S, but never mind.
      Hi thanks for that brian!! Ive got someone around to put in a newer openreach BT master in place which has the screw connectors. What could have happened to the other one by the way??

      ps: the pic i used was an example but box is the same as this one. The guy i got it from is supposed to be a BT engineer...obviously not!!
      NEW NTE5A NTE5 NTE 5 TELEPHONE MASTER SOCKET & FIT TOOL on eBay, also, Other Home Phones, Home Phones, Mobile Home Phones (end time 23-Mar-08 14:17:43 GMT)
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 29-03-08 at 02:17 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    7. #6
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      It is worth pointing out that IDC terminals are only suitable for solid core wire. If you need to connect a stranded wire you will need to use screw terminals.
      adslnation

    8. #7
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      I am supprised that Netgeezer did not point out that you should not tamper with your master socket as it is against BT T&C'S, but never mind.
      I didn't have to, not when I've got you watching my back LOL

      But of course, Brian69 is 1,000% correct, tampering with your Master Socket is a definite no-no. Which is my I used the ADSL Nation XF-1e, and blinking good it is too, while allowing you to comply with your contractual obligations to BT.

      So if you are, like me, one who tries their best to keep to the agreed T&Cs you will find the ADSL Nation XF-1e a great little ADSL Filter. Just make sure that all of your internal wiring from the Master socket is tickaboo and dandy. It seems that a lot of the problems reported on this forum are resolved by fixing up the customer-side wiring.
      Last edited by Netgeezer; 29-03-08 at 08:19 PM.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Glad you have made that clear Netgeezer.

    10. #9
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Glad you have made that clear Netgeezer.
      Always happy to Brian69
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    11. #10
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Master NTE5- Whats Better- Scewtype or IDC?

      Thanks Guys. Ive got the new one on now so all sorted. Ive done stats again and they are still the same with low noise margins on DL, now what i cant understand is why the stats were better on the older 1960s master with a crappy extension cable! Would it be worth me getting the adslnation faceplate for my newer oipenreach master NTE5a and would this make my ping better for fps online gaming? I am waiting to do a proper test with router next to master via a 10m cat5 cable this week when cable finally arrives so hopefully stats will look better. At the moment the stats are on test socket but router is 7mtrs away via std rj11-rj11 cable
      Re adslnation: I do have the solid core ornge/whte cables from the dropline telegraph pole outside


      note: My incoming line is a telegraph pole
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION