Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Problems.

    This is a discussion on Sky Problems. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I've recently switched all my services from Virgin Media to Sky. When the "Sky Guy" was installing the lines ...

    1. #1
      Drowshall's Avatar
      Drowshall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Problems.

      Hello,

      I've recently switched all my services from Virgin Media to Sky. When the "Sky Guy" was installing the lines and set-top boxes, he assured us the sky router WILL work on an extension line to where our old network hub was placed (So we didn't have to re-cable the house with Ethernet lines leading up the stairs.)

      Well after 15 days after the Set-top boxes were installed, we call sky asking why we have yet to receive our router/modem. We received the router the next day via royal mail next day delivery.

      I set it up using the extension line which my TV was connected to. After another week or so, I had to call Sky again, their customer service was terrible. I was asked to try the router connected to the main socket, which it currently is still connected.

      So, question 1: Why won’t the router connect using the extension line? If it can, what configuration of lines/micro filters is needed

      Although the router is connected to the main phone socket now, we are getting terrifying speeds for our "Max" connection.

      ADSL Link-----------Downstream---------Upstream
      Connection Speed-------64 kbps----------64 kbps
      Line Attenuation---------49 db------------15.5 db
      Noise Margin-------------25 db-------------14 db

      Question 2: Is this just a switch over phase while the line is configured? If yes, any idea how long it'll last?

      I really don't want to have to spend £40/£60 on 2 or 3 wireless network cards, or buying 15m+ ethernet cables to run from the front room, up to the 2 computers on the 1st floor, and then up the 2nd flight of stairs to a 3rd computer. I'd much rather use our existing ethernet network which is already in place.


      If any more information is required I'll check for replies every 10 minutes or so.
      Any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you, David Griffiths.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Problems.

      When you say the main phone socket, is it behind the face plate? ie Have you taken the face plate off and plugged into your test socket?

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket

      There is no training period of your line on MAX fyi
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Drowshall's Avatar
      Drowshall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      The main socket with the faceplate still in place.

      I would like to use the extension line though if possible?

      EDIT:

      After testing using the Test socket, there is no change.

      EDIT2:

      I've just remembered I forgot to mention. When connected to the extension line on the 2nd floor, the router's internet light flashes amber roughly every minute for 10 seconds.
      Last edited by Drowshall; 15-03-08 at 02:34 PM.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Where have you placed your microfilters in the system?

    6. #5
      Drowshall's Avatar
      Drowshall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Currently the microfilter is connected into the main socket, then into the microfilter is the modem line, and a 2 way jack into the phone socket on the microfilter.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Is anything on the extension socket? Personally I would remove the front and go to the test socket to isolate the line.

    8. #7
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Problems.

      You should call sky as you have been capped to the min speed to try and get sync and they have forgot to put it back up.

    9. #8
      Drowshall's Avatar
      Drowshall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      You should call sky as you have been capped to the min speed to try and get sync and they have forgot to put it back up.
      Mmm if that is the case, heads will be bouncing...

      My network problems still exist though:


      This is how Sky suggest, and how it is currently set up.


      This is how several people have told me to connect my router, although mine does not work, where as those who have suggested this work fine.

      I'm so confused

    10. #9
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Which one is the way that it is setup now because the first one is how it should be setup.

    11. #10
      Drowshall's Avatar
      Drowshall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Problems.

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      Which one is the way that it is setup now because the first one is how it should be setup.
      /cry

      That means I'm going to have to re-network the entire house.

      But how can several people I know use an extension line at their home for it to work.

      My head hurts...

      Thanks for the help though

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION