Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Need help....can anyone explain???

    This is a discussion on Need help....can anyone explain??? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; O.k Cable = XR66W Socket = FT49D Insertion tool = FT51F...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      O.k Cable = XR66W
      Socket = FT49D
      Insertion tool = FT51F


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      If I hardwire as suggested will the ring line be carried through to where I wish to place the router now (2nd Floor)? As I stated earlier in this thread I have a fax/printer networked through my router, so at the other end of the 15m extension presently is a filter to split the signal.

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      No you need not connect the ring line if you have a filter on the other end, Just use the blue pair to connect 2 and 5 from the master faceplate to the extension

    5. #14
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      So My fax will still work if attached to the filter?
      Last edited by Hopeful; 09-03-08 at 01:59 PM.

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      Yes. At the moment you have an extension from the master to wherever, with a filter pluged into it. You would like to remove the ring wire, but extension leads contain wires which are too small to work with IDC connectors on the faceplate, so I have suggested that you wire an extension socket and leave out the ring line. As the filter will produce the ring sig, you do not need it.

    7. #16
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      Quote Originally Posted by Hopeful View Post
      Hi Ian,

      I opened the master socket there are presently no wires attached to terminals 2-5. There are only 2 wires coming from outside the house into the back of the master socket, a white one attached to 'A' and a orange one attached to 'B'.

      Hopeful
      I re-read over the answers from everyone (very grateful for all replies) but I now think I may have a wiring problem

      The BT socket on the ground floor has only 2 connections '2' green/white stripes and '5' white/green stripes. Then there is a BT extension plugged into this and on the other end on the 1st floor a BT extension socket (fitted by DH) with terminals '2' blue/white stripes, '3' orange/white stripes, '4' white/orange stripes, '5' white/blue stripes.

      The master socket is wired as above in quote.

      If certain wires carry the BB and/or ringing signal would I then not have a problem if only part/either or both signals are wired correctly in the sockets.
      The socket on the ground floor and the socket on the 2nd floor were both done by BT when I moved in but I DID NOT have BB at the time only dial up, so would this have influenced the way they wired it back then???

      Any engineers out there to shed some light on this?

      Would be very grateful for any feedback

    8. #17
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      ^^^ The orange/white pair to terminals 3 & 4 on the first floor can be disconnected but they aren't actually doing anything if the ground floor socket is not a master. There is no ring signal generated by an extension socket, only the master.

      Brian69's solution is the best way forward - a hard wired extension from the master faceplate connected to only terminals 2 & 5 using good quality cable.

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      Now we are getting somewhere.
      Your wiring should be like this.
      (1) Starting at the master the incoming line sounds correct (white to A and orange to B).
      (2) You say that there is an extension socket, but no wires on the faceplate of the master, so this extension must be connected to the incoming line at some other point.
      You need to get your wiring re-done so that all extensions are wired from the faceplate of the master.
      Your system should be wired so that if you remove the faceplate from the master, then all other sockets are disconnected.

    10. #19
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      picture of bt socket.doc

      click the link above to see a picture showing the cabling from the street into my house. Is this right??

    11. #20
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need help....can anyone explain???

      Exactly as Brian69 described. The extension is wired from the outside junction box which is not how it would be done today. As the ring wire is not wired back to the master socket then it is probably OK as it is, but ideally it would be better wired from the master faceplate so it can be disconnected for testing etc.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION