Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

    This is a discussion on Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router??? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI Guys, For the last 2 or 3 weeks I have had a poor connection. I was also affected by ...

    1. #1
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      HI Guys,

      For the last 2 or 3 weeks I have had a poor connection.
      I was also affected by the major outage!

      My Stats are ussually good, with low errors (<1%) and normall connection of around 5MBPS.

      Today is like the final straw as I can not get a stable connection at all. Best I've got is 3MBPS and upto 50% errors

      So What's at Fault?

      My Phone line comes into a ADSL Nation master socket, I have one extenstion form that (using Cat5 cable) to a ADSL nation extension, with ADSL nation cable going to the Sky Netgear router. I connect via 100Mb cable to router from PC (not that this will have anything to do with router connection)

      Basically I probably have a poor connection due to the errors all of a sudden. Now what can casue this??

      1. Is it the router?
      2. Is it Sky?
      3. Is it BT and my phone line? Why the sudden change in quality?

      Basically I have always had same attenuation of 55dB so never get a better conneciton than 5Mbps. However it has been 99% stable and usable. Its just got very poor of late, and I have really noticed that on some evenings (last few weeks) the errors suddenly increase. Other days no problems at all with errors.

      Interstingly I have noticed that the attenuation often shows 15.5dB when the conneciton is poor and loads of errors. I seem to think this was a firmware error with the router? anyone know? Either way I have never noticed this issue of 15.5dB before.

      Anyone think its the router? Anything else I can check before I phone sky. Can I get BT to check the line? I am 99.99% certain it is not my internal wiring as nothing has been moved or changed since I installed it all about 4 or 5 months ago.

      Help


      Thanks
      Stats:/usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 54.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.2 1.9
      Max(Kbps): 3392 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3072 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 97(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 97 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1632 17.0666
      L: 784 120
      D: 16 2
      Counters
      SF: 542771 542769
      SFErr: 184947 8
      RS: 18454238 2306768
      RSCorr: 4483271 168
      RSUnCorr: 1196603 0

      HEC: 155715 6
      OCD: 1 14
      LCD: 0 6
      Total Cells: 66443817 0
      Data Cells: 1317784 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3239 0
      SES: 3239 0
      UAS: 25 0
      Total time = 2 hours 34 min 26 sec
      SF = 542771
      CRC = 184947
      LOS = 328288
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3239
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 34 min 26 sec
      SF = 542771
      CRC = 184947
      LOS = 328288
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3239
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 26 sec
      SF = 15703
      CRC = 746
      LOS = 5239
      LOF = 0
      ES = 109
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2824
      LOS = 18197
      LOF = 0
      ES = 209
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2595
      LOS = 17732
      LOF = 0
      ES = 229
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2481
      LOS = 17055
      LOF = 0
      ES = 183
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2536
      LOS = 17879
      LOF = 0
      ES = 188
      Last edited by medicmanonet; 04-03-08 at 11:32 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      The stats above are form this mronign when I finally got the router to connect with some sort of stability.

      Below is just some eariler stats from 19 Feb at 7am after router had been on for about 12 hours... see no errors? wierd

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5120 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.1 3.1
      Max(Kbps): 5664 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 5120 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 161(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 32 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 161 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0987 17.0666
      L: 1296 120
      D: 32 2
      Counters
      SF: 2606823 2606821
      SFErr: 148 14
      RS: 177263994 11078989
      RSCorr: 1712286 148
      RSUnCorr: 1341 0

      HEC: 127 10
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 535142012 0
      Data Cells: 104688488 0
      Drop Cells: 5
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 339 0
      SES: 280 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 12 hours 19 min 4 sec
      SF = 2606823
      CRC = 148
      LOS = 342
      LOF = 0
      ES = 339
      Latest 1 day time = 12 hours 19 min 4 sec
      SF = 2606823
      CRC = 148
      LOS = 342
      LOF = 0
      ES = 339
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 4 sec
      SF = 14350
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      you have loads of errors, you will need to do a test from the BT test socket (behind the faceplate)
      if you still get the errors, you should then do a quite line test 17070 option 2 (use a corded phone), you should not hear any noise


      post back some stats from the test socket (run for about 6 hours)

    5. #4
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      Hi Richone,

      I will try the test socket tommorrow, as I will have to set up wireless network to try it (havent got a 25Meter network cable anywhere).

      If the LOS and CRC errors are still high on the master socket, but I don't have noise from trying 17070 could the problem be my router?

      Anyway, I will post back after trying master socket. (probably nothing wrong with the internal wiring due to the recent install, but always best to eliminate it).

      Cheers

    6. #5
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      Damn!.. I just realised I have posted in the Exchange info forum...

      Moderator, please move this into the sky broad band help section...

      sorry to post in wrong area

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      NP, has been moved to cabling and faceplate (as i'm pretty sure this may be the problem)

      just to check, when you move the router you will have to take the faceplate off the front of the master socket and plug into the test socket behind, this will rule out your internal wiring

    8. #7
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      Right,

      basically I have now managed to try router on BT master test socket (the part behind the faceplate I mean).

      Connection is totally pants here too. Basically unusable due to nearly 100% errors.
      CRC and LOS (Loss of signal?) errors are about the same as the amount of traffic!!

      I left it on for about 1 hour (then had to reconnect phones)

      So internal wiring is out.. and cannot be causing the problem.

      I have had to use my ADSL nation cable to router when doing the test, but as it is 0.5meters long, and in perfect (external) condition I think this is unlikely to be cause.

      No micro filters are used (they are already in the ADSL nation face plates).

      Can it be the router? I would assume that it would work or not. I do not think it will be causing errors - am I wrong?

      I used a wired phone on the master test socket and dialled 17070 and option 2 for line noise test. - All seemed silent to me - no pops, bangs, whistles, or telesales. What was I listening for???

      So is it skys fault or BT lines etc.

      I am back online 3 hours later (than stats) and now have only 10% errors and can use the net at 3Mbps of a fashion.

      What do I do next - who to phone in sky?

      Thanks for advice


      Stats:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3136 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.5 13.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.2 1.9
      Max(Kbps): 3456 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3136 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 99(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 99 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1600 17.0666
      L: 800 120
      D: 16 2
      Counters
      SF: 223307 223305
      SFErr: 168272 16
      RS: 7592442 949046
      RSCorr: 1705941 16
      RSUnCorr: 1388748 0

      HEC: 153473 8
      OCD: 0 14
      LCD: 0 6
      Total Cells: 27595723 0
      Data Cells: 23236 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1926 0
      SES: 1926 0
      UAS: 34 0
      Total time = 1 hours 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 223307
      CRC = 168272
      LOS = 207010
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1926
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 223307
      CRC = 168272
      LOS = 207010
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1926
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 14586
      CRC = 10540
      LOS = 13277
      LOF = 0
      ES = 112
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 39152
      LOS = 48725
      LOF = 0
      ES = 433
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 39737
      LOS = 48745
      LOF = 0
      ES = 478
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 40554
      LOS = 49585
      LOF = 0
      ES = 463
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49930
      CRC = 38289
      LOS = 46678
      LOF = 0
      ES = 440

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      Just to checkm are these from the test socket ?
      Total time = 1 hours 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 223307
      CRC = 168272
      LOS = 207010
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1926
      Latest 1 day
      they are very bad
      the 15 min in the below stats make mw wonder ifyou were able to use the internet at all


      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 40554
      LOS = 49585
      LOF = 0
      ES = 463

    10. #9
      medicmanonet's Avatar
      medicmanonet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01633485
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      Basically.. no I was not able to use the internet at all during this time. And yes it was from the BT test socket.


      Basically from around 6am until 2pm internet was pants with no ability to do anything due to massive errors (well 100% by the look of it).

      This has been a steadily increasing problem over the last several weeks, with a period of time where the internet seems very slow.

      The last 2-3 days I thin my connection is only about 3 Mbps where the router ususally connects at around 5Mbps.

      Since around 14:00 today when I reconnected everything back on normal internal wiring and extension sockets the connection has improved. I was having around 20% errors for 1st hour and I have just pulled the following stats off the router with around 10% errors.


      So who do I call for help? (Ghostbusters?)

      STATS:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3936 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: Unknown
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.3 3.2
      Max(Kbps): 4512 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 3936 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 124(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 32 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 124 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1280 17.0666
      L: 1000 120
      D: 32 2
      Counters
      SF: 1163233 1163231
      SFErr: 163583 68
      RS: 79099914 4943731
      RSCorr: 28554166 300
      RSUnCorr: 581573 0

      HEC: 92699 38
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 183390188 0
      Data Cells: 1641126 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5045 0
      SES: 5045 0
      UAS: 47 0
      Total time = 5 hours 30 min 41 sec
      SF = 1163233
      CRC = 163583
      LOS = 486283
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5045
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 30 min 41 sec
      SF = 1163233
      CRC = 163583
      LOS = 486283
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5045
      Latest 15 minutes time = 41 sec
      SF = 2411
      CRC = 509
      LOS = 1027
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 9397
      LOS = 22206
      LOF = 0
      ES = 217
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 8303
      LOS = 21080
      LOF = 0
      ES = 242
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 8403
      LOS = 20762
      LOF = 0
      ES = 359
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 6698
      LOS = 19592
      LOF = 0
      ES = 228

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Connection, Sky, BT, Router???

      could you do a quite line test,
      plug a corded phone into the test socket, ring 17070 then press option 2
      you should not hear any noise (but looking at your previous stats i would imagine you will hear lots of hiss/crackle/pops)

      let us know how you get on

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION