Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Old BT socket.

    This is a discussion on Old BT socket. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently getting low speeds. after speaking to the help desk and trying other filters and connecting to the ...

    1. #1
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Old BT socket.

      I am currently getting low speeds. after speaking to the help desk and trying other filters and connecting to the "Master socket" I discovered there is no difference if I connect from the "Master" or the one upstairs of a 15m extension...
      After lots of searching I discovered my Master socket is probably 15-20 years old. Should this have been upgraded?
      Please see the images on my page here.

      Old Socket

      I am all set to buy new face plates and cables, but is there any point if the wires in the socket look like the gubbins in the second picture?

      Thanks.

      Brin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Was that socket wired up by BT? There's badly stripped back cabling there and bare lead, doesn't look like their handiwork....then again.
      Somebody'll ask you to post your router statistics before they can make any suggestions so I'll do it to save time. Can you post your router stats?

    4. #3
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Yep, as far as I know that was fitted by BT. Probably around 1985! thinking about it.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4192 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 27 db

      Are other stats needed?

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      You only need wires connected to pins 2 and 5 thats the middle ones on the 2 white connector blocks, you can disconnect the others as they can cause issues and are not required. I would try that before you go any further.

    6. #5
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      your stats look great - although it also looks you have been capped, probably due to bad internal wiring

    7. #6
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Thanks guys,

      I have discovered that the first 10 days are when the system tests itelf and sorts out the best speed for my connection.

      I will save any other tweaks till this has finished!

      I will undo the other wires and have a at insulating the wires and things in the box though just because I know they are there!

      B.

    8. #7
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Brin View Post
      I discovered there is no difference if I connect from the "Master" or the one upstairs of a 15m extension...

      Old Socket

      I am all set to buy new face plates and cables, but is there any point if the wires in the socket look like the gubbins in the second picture?
      Is the extension upstairs hard wired from the master or plugged in to it?

      I am sure that if Brian69 pops in he will know better than me, but that master socket wiring looks highly suspect.

      IIRC the orange wire from the outside should be connected to terminal 2 where the white one is, and the white one from the outside should be in terminal 5 where the orange one looks as though it nearly is!

      I think the green one in terminal 3 should be disconnected as it is probably causing noise, as should everything else unless you do have an extension hard wired.

      It's not always easy to see from a photo but if you can just leave the "drop" pair connected, things may improve!

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Yes I agree, that master socket looks poor.
      (1) Try an find out which of the cables connected is the incoming one (the one from the exchange).

      (2) connect this cable to the master socket, one wire to 2 and one to 5 (it does not matter which way round).
      Leave the other cable dissconnected.

      You now have a test socket, that is one socket connected to the line and all other wiring and sockets disconnected.
      if you do a sync connected to this socket, it will show what your line is capable of supporting.

    10. #9
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      hehe, this sounds a bit complicated.

      The extension is simply plugged into this socket.

      I have disconected the green wire, and the download connection speed increased to around 7000. Although I am still in the first 10 days so this may have been a coincidence?

      There are actually two orange wires in slot 5.

      A chap in work has just told me that this is BT's property so I shouldnt really be changing anything. So if I want to add a proper face plate, It wont "fit" without replacing the whole box. Is this something Sky should sort out, or do I need to go through BT?

      Thanks for the replies chaps

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Your friend at work is right, this is all BT's property and you should not touch it. However many people have replaced the master and BT have been none the wiser.
      But if you think that the description I gave is at all complicated, then you should contact BT and have them replace the master with a NTE-5 master, it is this type that you need if you wish to use a filter faceplate.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION