Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Old BT socket.

    This is a discussion on Old BT socket. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Cheers, Brian, I will wait for the 10 days to be up and see if I am happy with the ...

    1. #11
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Cheers, Brian,

      I will wait for the 10 days to be up and see if I am happy with the speed. Then I will start tweaking if needed!

      Hopefully the Max package will become availible then I can look into proper optimising.

      Brin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      stupid question we have just moved into our new house which is a old victorian property, we have a similar problem if i want to upgrade the BT sockets do they do it free as it is a safety hazard in my house as the cables are dangling outside.

    4. #13
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      They reckon there's no stupid questions, just some really stupid answers. Here's one. BT charge something like 124 to replace a Master Socket just because you say it needs doing. How's it a safety hazard in your house if the wiring is "dangling" outside? If you're brave enough, and the cables are low enough, a passing pedestrian might <ahem> accidentally and maliciously yank the things off. You could then "discover" the damage and report the fault. Of course you'd be without a line 'till the nice man came to replace it and then you'd have to rely on his goodwill to change the socket inside at the same time........

    5. #14
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      i see the socket has come of the wall and is dangling on the floor so it needs to be secured but i am puzzled (as i just moved in) where it comes from as it seems to be coming from under the carpet and its just left on the carpet dangling wires face up. No idea ut it is a safety issue i suppose as the wire has come loose and its now if u tug comes up from under the carpet,
      do you think BT will fix this for free??

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Yes Openreach will do this for free as it is a trip hazard.
      You should also get a new NTE-5 as well.

    7. #16
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      thanks brian69 much appreciated i read on here people asking bt to come around for repairs like this and to find getting billed, how should i play this should i stick to the truth its a trip hazard and needs attention (i have just moved into the house btw)?

    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Yep stick to the truth, and just to add a touch of drama why not trip over it and break it in two, if you know what I mean

    9. #18
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      i get your drift brian, if it does break am i perfectly entitled for BT to fix it with a new one free of charge?

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      You will get a new NTE-5 because work is required on the master (to fix it to the wall, if it was only a broken wire you might not) The trip hazard will ensure it is done free.

    11. #20
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old BT socket.

      Huh, you leave a perfectly decent drift lying about and somebody goes and nicks the thing. I dunno, what's this forum coming too?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION