Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    XTE 2005 face plate

    This is a discussion on XTE 2005 face plate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just received the above faceplate. Now when i have replaced the master with this i will be rewiring for my ...

    1. #1
      philip41's Avatar
      philip41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      XTE 2005 face plate

      Just received the above faceplate.

      Now when i have replaced the master with this i will be rewiring for my BB connection, would there be any advantage to replacing it with Cat5 e cable.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Could you explain what you mean by "rewiring for my BB connection" as normally you would be plugging your router into the ADSL port so any other wiring will be telephone extension only.

    4. #3
      philip41's Avatar
      philip41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Hi quite simply, master socket at front of house BB(broadband) at rear of house, thus the need for an extension.

      thanks

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      If you are going to extend the unfiltered ADSL signal from the A+B connections then any good quality twisted pair cable should be O.K. With luck telephone expert Brian who frequently posts on here can probably give you the best advice.

    6. #5
      philip41's Avatar
      philip41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Twisted pair, is this the same as the Cat5 e that i am on about.

      Also using the face plate will mean that the extensions are filtered, or at least thats how i read the spec for the faceplate.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Hi Philip.
      Sure you can use cat5e if you want to, it's a bit over the top through, and CW1308 would be just as good.
      The main thing is to keep it away from mains wiring.
      You are right, as long as all other wiring is taken from the filtered side (the numbered connections) it will have no effect on your BB.
      It is tempting to ask if you are going to run cat5e from the master to your computer, why not put the router at the master and use the cat5e as network connection from router to computer. There is prob a very good reason why not, but I have to ask.

    8. #7
      philip41's Avatar
      philip41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi Philip.
      Sure you can use cat5e if you want to, it's a bit over the top through, and CW1308 would be just as good.
      The main thing is to keep it away from mains wiring.
      You are right, as long as all other wiring is taken from the filtered side (the numbered connections) it will have no effect on your BB.
      It is tempting to ask if you are going to run cat5e from the master to your computer, why not put the router at the master and use the cat5e as network connection from router to computer. There is prob a very good reason why not, but I have to ask.

      Hi Brian,

      An extension seems to be the simplest solution as at the opposite end of the house i need to connect 2 PC's and a networked printer, all via Ethernet connections.

      Ah penny just dropped i think, i could just run the Cat5 from the master to the router in the back of the house. Doh.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Hi Philip.
      You could get a switch for the other end (5 port Netgear FS605v3).
      I know this seems a bit over top, and an extension would be simple, but having gone to the trouble to get a good ADSL connection it's better to keep the router as close to the filter as you can.

    10. #9
      philip41's Avatar
      philip41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Cheers Brian, what you say does make perfect sense.

      Have to wait a short while to go this route, no job at the moment, only in the short term hopefully.

    11. #10
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE 2005 face plate

      Quote Originally Posted by philip41 View Post
      Cheers Brian, what you say does make perfect sense.

      Have to wait a short while to go this route, no job at the moment, only in the short term hopefully.
      If it helps you can pick netgear 10/100Mbps switches (5 port) up on ebay for about 7 - i got one for that price a while back, as am intending to integrate IP cams into my network eventually

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION