Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    master socket wire set up...look correct ?

    This is a discussion on master socket wire set up...look correct ? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; back again ! i have just taken face plate off my master socket again ( remember it has no test ...

    1. #1
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      back again ! i have just taken face plate off my master socket again ( remember it has no test socket ) anyway, the wiring set up inside is as follows.....
      terminal 1....nothing connected

      terminal 2........red wire

      terminal 3.......orange wire

      terminal 4.......nothing connected

      terminal 5.........white wire

      terminal 6...........nothing connected

      there is also a black wire not connected to anything ( just hanging there) does all the above sound correct ?...also, with an engineer coming in the future to fit a new master socket.. in the meantime if i do/can disconnect any wires in current socket is that going to cause a problem with bt or any extensions in my house..and also finally ...if i have to put back any wires i have removed..is it easy as in just push them back in to where they came out....i only ask as so many people advise disconnecting certain wires for certain problems & to make sure my current wiring set up is correct before i attemp disconnecting any... many thanks again in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      Hi Worcester.
      No not really, there should be no red. The wire to remove is the orange on 3 Don't worry about the wrong colour, the whole lot will be gone soon.
      Just a bit of backround, It is not unknown for lines to work faultless on ADSL but not on ADSL2+ so do not worry the fault is in your old drop.

    4. #3
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      hi brian again ( i knew you would track the question down , anyway i will remove the orange wire..but what about the rest of my queries ie putting it back in if i have to...extensions etc...as you may have guessed i am a bit wary of wiring so need reassurances other things will still work...cheers matey

      ps..if the orange wire is of no importance..why is it there ?...just wondered

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      The ring wire does play a part, but as you have BB and use filters on all your phones, then it is not required, the filters have their own circuit to produce the ring supply. (some mordern phones do not need this at all, but you need not concern yourself, as long as all your phones have a filter all will be well.
      There are serverial ways to lay out the wireing in a domestic set up and it is my guess that somewhere you will find a small box from which some or all of your extensions are wired.
      To summerise remove the orange wire from 3 at the master. Then screw it back do not worry about the disconnected wire (black) it's a spare.
      Check that you can make and receive calls from all your phones. Have fun

    6. #5
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      hi again ....statistics from earlier to.....

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 34665 58035 0 0 0 0:07:26
      LAN 61091 37849 0 930 1688 0:08:37
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:08:15
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13315 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 15.5 db

      statistics from since i removed orange wire.... ( approx 3 mins later )

      System Up Time: 33:17:05

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 24557 40216 0 0 0 0:12:49
      LAN 490283 340907 0 0 0 33:17:05
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 33:16:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14354 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

      Poll Interval: (secs)


      looks a bit better

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      It's a pity I don't live closer or I would pop over and rewire your set up. Still it wont be too long before you get the new socket etc.
      You may be wondering what is so good about a faceplate filter. When one is fitted, BB is only avaliable at the socket on it, it therefore prevents any noise of interferance from your internal wiring from effecting your BB sig.

    8. #7
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      hi again brian...i wish you did live closer...save me alot of time ..what you said in last post reminds me...i did ask the openreach engineer about having a filter faceplate fitted...but he said that he did not do that...it was the responsibility of the openreach bb section...and he did not fit them...so next i will be after info on how to get one & how to actually set it up ( the easy way..in plain laymans terms i know you told me in erlier post on different thread...but i mean really easy fitting set up !!!....anyway once yet again many thanks matey...( but as arnie says " i will be back !" )

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      Easy. Go to the ADSL Nation site and you can view and download all you need to know about their XTE-2005 Faceplate filter.

    10. #9
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      hi brian ( last question for now...honest ! ..just had a read about the faceplates..does look easy enough ( i say look)... anyway,when i get my new master socket with test socket fitted...when i actually do a test from master socket..if there is no or very little difference in speed etc...is it still worth getting a faceplate filter ? as i just read somewhere that if test from master socket does not increase speed etc,etc its pointless fitting a faceplate ....whats your point of view ?

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: master socket wire set up...look correct ?

      A very fair question and I will give you my view.
      When you get your new master fitted, you will be able to test your connection from the test socket. This provides a line connection with all your other sockets AND wiring disconnected. Not only is this the best speed you can get, but it is also the best noise margin, and it is this that is important when stability is considered.
      So while you may get the same speed when connected to the test and master (I doubt it but you never know) You will not get such a good noise margin, and this would show up as a lower sync speed.
      IMHO there is nothing to beat a faceplate filter and a nice short connection to the router. Hope that helps

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION