Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Master Socket and Extention Problems

    This is a discussion on Master Socket and Extention Problems within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was thinking the same thing, My mum is going to kill me when she gets home from work, Atleast ...

    1. #21
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      I was thinking the same thing, My mum is going to kill me when she gets home from work, Atleast i got the Main Socket working it's ok, I can access the internet wirelessly, How much does "the man" cost?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      I've just read this on another forum

      If you get no ringing on the extension phones then double check the pin 3 connection as that gives the currant to make the phones ring!
      I'm guessing thats number 3 I've got to check

    4. #23
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      Check all the connections, and if they are IDC connectors (the ones where you just push the wires in) get the right tool. You can get them very cheap at a store that sells phone stuff.

    5. #24
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      We have got the Master Socket and the 2nd Extention working, My step dad is fixing it, Thank god for his DIY skills

    6. #25
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      Well that's good. Now watch him carefully and see where the wires go so next time you feel like pulling them all out you will know how to put them back. Better still make some notes.

    7. #26
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      To my surprise I actually put them back in correct it's just I didn't push the wires in enough lol, But everything is back to usual, That's the last time i mess with wires :P

    8. #27
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Extention Problems

      Jolly good.
      Now I assume that you were trying to improve your speed, noise margin etc. Now you know where it all goes you can pursue this again.
      (1) the best way is to fit a filter faceplate at the master, and connect the router there.
      (2) If not then disconnect the wire or wires that connect to 3 at the master faceplate. With filters plugged in all the phones will work. If any don't then replace the filter concerned.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION