Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Connection to Sky problem

This is a discussion on Connection to Sky problem within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have had problems with my connection to Sky. I am new to this so would appreciate it if ...

drunior is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Connection to Sky problem

Hi,

I have had problems with my connection to Sky. I am new to this so would appreciate it if someone could help me (I am not very technically minded).

I can only connect to the internet when I make an outside call. My connection and the router light goes off when the call is terminated.

I tried the router in the test socket last night and the router connected immediately, however when i try the router in any other extension including the main socket on the test box the light will not come on until i make a call and stay on the line.

I have contacted BT this morning. They want 199 to fix the problem and Sky arn't interested at all. Can anyone help? does it sound like a wiring problem in the test socket and if so can anyone tell me how it should be connected?

Or should I pay to get someone to come and look for me.

Many thanks

2. Advertisement
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Re: Connection to Sky problem

Faulty extension on the line, BT will charge you for this if you call them in. Test socket is seperate from anything else on the line and when the faceplate is off the test socket is the only thing touching the BT line. This issue is with the wiring from the socket to the extensions.

Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange: