Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 30 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
    Results 81 to 90 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; P.S. Forgot to say i only got self tap screws, no M3's so i might have to butcher my master ...

    1. #81
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      P.S.

      Forgot to say i only got self tap screws, no M3's so i might have to butcher my master socket threads


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You maybe better off getting a couple of screws which fit light sockets from B&Q.....same type of screw and thread.

    4. #83
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sounds like a great idea, im sure i have a load of them lying around in the garage after replacing all the light switches.

    5. #84
      StevesRoom's Avatar
      StevesRoom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLLI
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quick reply.

      you may be getting that connection but your actual data rate will be much lower than that.

      even with no load on you will not get those kinds of speeds.

      run a test and see.

      goto google and type bbmax and do a test.

      and post back here.

    6. #85
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NTE-2005 faceplate from adsl nation all installed now and i decided to use the AB connections on the back to make my extensions adsl only. Great results on the noise margin, even with the netgear router plugged into the extension the noise margin went from 6db to 15db at peak time, and 9db to 20db off peak. I am still connected at 3.2mb as Sky capped me to increase my stability. Just waiting for tier3 to call back and raise the cap now, so hopefully i might have enough room to go to 5 or 6mb.

      I will keep you informed on how stable my connection stays. Thanks to all the great posts here much more helpfull than sky whose only answer seems to be to reduce connection speed to get things working.

      Many thanks

      Dave.

    7. #86
      dennis's Avatar
      dennis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tipton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Installed one of the ADSL face plates from solwise.
      Speed up from 12M to 15+M noise margin up from 7dB to 9dB.

      Well worth the 15 IMO (just for being neater).

      Now getting 13.5M downloads from Moscow on speedtest.net.

      Do Sky intend to enable the full 22M/1.3M ?

    8. #87
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by dennis View Post

      Do Sky intend to enable the full 22M/1.3M ?
      let them get 16mb right first
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #88
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Have just fitted a XTE-2005 face plate from ADSL nation to my master socket and although my router connection statistics appear more favourable the speed that I am downloading at is far slower than I had before (according to speedtest.bbmax.co.uk gone down from over 5000kbps to under 1000kbps). I noted down the lines from the old faceplate and connected them to the same numbered terminals on the new faceplate (2,3 and 5 - didn't connect any to the A and B terminals, was this right?).

      My router stats before and after XTE-2005 was fitted are as follows:

      Before:
      Connection Speed:
      Down - 6137 kbps
      Up - 766 kbps

      Line Attenuation:
      Down - 39.5db
      Up - 23.7db

      Noise margin:
      Down - 6.4db
      Up - 11.5 db

      After:
      Connection Speed:
      Down: 8096 kbps
      Up:768 kbps

      Line Attenuation:
      Down: 36.0 db
      Up:23.5 db

      Noise Margin:
      Down:7.7 db
      Up:7.7 db

      Please help

    10. #89
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Don't panic - I've noticed bbmax is playing up this afternoon. I normally get ~10000 kbps and am only getting ~5-7000kbps at the moment.

      From your description you've connected up properly.

      If things haven't improved later then plug into the test socket and see if that makes a difference.

    11. #90
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for your reply Saturday. As it happens my readings were from yesterday night (8pm) and first thing this morning (8am).

      I called ADSLnation helpline and he suggested connecting the router directly to the new face plate and removing then connecting the voice wires on by one until I find the one that's causing the problem.

     

     
    Page 9 of 30 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION