Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 30 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for the reply hugsie. Adsl nation have gone out of stock again, any idea if this is any good ...

    1. #71
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for the reply hugsie. Adsl nation have gone out of stock again, any idea if this is any good or just a tidy version of a microfilter?

      http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...dslk&doy=12m10


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Having a quick look it seems that the one you have linked to is just a filter, like the dangly ones sky sell you but tidier. It does not have the connection at the back of the face plate into which you wire your extention.

      If you have just split the main phone line then it would be fine, but if your extensions are wired to the back of your master socket you need on like the ADSL Nation version, I am sorry I have only used that one so am not sure what others there are.

    4. #73
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for the confirmation. I think this one might do the trick and it seems like i can make my extension a dedicated adsl line.

      http://www.clarity.it/xcart/product....age=1&featured

    5. #74
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Yes that should do the job! Please keep us informed of your experiences, you may help someone else!

    6. #75
      davidw's Avatar
      davidw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uxbridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Clarity claim to use the same manufacturer as BT - probably why it costs more, however check if you need to buy screws for 20p, ADSL Nation include both types with the Filter, Clarity only include self tapping.

      However one of the two versions is in stock at ADSL Nation, the NTE-2005 is in stock and the XTE-2005 is out of stock, perhaps our friend at ADSL Nation can explain the difference.
      Last edited by davidw; 12-10-06 at 06:50 PM.

    7. #76
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Had a chat with a guy at ADSL nation and the one they have in stock is for adsl and caps at 8mb, so no good for adsl2 and anything over 8 meg. So i was not sure if it would be anygood for sky.

    8. #77
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The faceplate sold by Clarity is identical to the NTE-2005, both are made by Pressac. There is nothing stopping you using one of those on ADSL 2, they were only ever designed for regular ADSL upto 8M so you are probably better off waiting for the XTE-2005 if you are one of the people on an ADSL 2 exchange.

    9. #78
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hey guys

      I went for the NTE-2005 from adslnation and it arrived today. It only came with the BT instructions and if i rewire it using 2,3 and 5 am i correct in thinking that my extensions will only be carrying a phone signal? And if i want adsl sent to the extension i need to use the A & B connections? If so does anyone know which wire goes to which connector, i would check out their website but it seems down to me. Also if i use A & B does that mean my extensions will have a phone signal or not. If not i guess i'll just do a bit of trial and error tonight

      Dave.

    10. #79
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you want the extensions to be filtered (the best option for speed) then you simply remove the wires on the existing faceplate and connect them on the same number on the NTE-2005.

      If you need to have an ADSL extension then use the terminals marked A&B they relate to numbers 5 & 2.

    11. #80
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Gotcha, thanks for the reply. So if i go the extension route with A & B, do you think i will loose the advantage of the new faceplate or i should still see the improvements? Also i have a standard phone faceplate on my extensions, so i will have to use my dangly filters to beable to connect to the socket. will this cause a problem?

      Many thanks

      Dave.

     

     
    Page 8 of 30 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION