Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 30 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; which testsite did you try?...

    1. #61
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      which testsite did you try?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      speedtest.net....also did another one with dslreports.com and actually got dl 25kb/s and ul 20kb/s. router is plugged in master socket by front door and i am using the wireless connection on my laptop...have also tried the optimizer, think i might have to ring them up in the morning. been like this all week, never get on average more than 1mb speed.

      router is plugged in normal way using filter.(switched it back)

    4. #63
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Have you tried setting the wireless to auto?

      Have you got a firewall you can just try disabling while you test again? (remember to put back on though)

      If not a phone call it is
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #64
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      nice tip about the auto, done 2 tests with auto option and got 4224kb/s and 3446kb/s dl speeds, then went back and changed back to g only and did the test again and dl speed went to 1966kb/s.

    6. #65
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      leave it on auto then
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #66
      ianb11's Avatar
      ianb11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Does all of this not depend on what speed your telephone line can get as well?

    8. #67
      Robs_2711's Avatar
      Robs_2711 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Works for me as well

      Just tried connecting into my master socket and my speed has gone up from
      3md to 4mb, even though Sky said that I could only get 2.5MB on my line !

    9. #68
      markbloke's Avatar
      markbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by ianb11 View Post
      Does all of this not depend on what speed your telephone line can get as well?
      Well it depends on a few factors, some of which are obvious - some less so:

      1. The equipment at your local exchange. If it's not LLU'd to Sky (Easynet) then you won't get the 16Mb/s service. You can't do much about this as a customer.

      2. Your distance from the exchange in terms of line length, which pretty much determines the attenuation being talked about here. Get more than a couple of Km away and the speeds start to drop away quite quickly with distance. Again, you can't do much about it other than move nearer!

      3. The SNR margin, which is something you can do something about by ensuring there's as little radio frequency interference picked up by your internal telephone wiring as possible. The SNR margin is the Signal To Noise Ratio margin, the amount of noise on the line versus the amount of ADSL signal. Ideally this should be big. As speed increases, this ratio gets smaller, once it gets below about 7db (in my case anyway) the noise starts to swamp the signal and the data gets corrupted. You see this as speed taking a nosedive. That's why if you're getting poor speeds it's a good idea to check your stats for a low SNR margin. Reboot the router and it'll reconnect, possibly at a lower sync speed but higher SNR margin which will ensure that most of the data isn't corrupted.

      Blimey, is that the time!? I've got to go teach some grannies to suck eggs....
      Connection Speed 13753 kbps Down - 766 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db Down - 18.7 db Up
      Noise Margin 7.0 db Down - 11.6 db Up

    10. #69
      Makka's Avatar
      Makka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi there guys, i have a feeling this might be a silly question to ask but i wont know the answer unless i do.
      I currently have 2 pc's connected by ethernet upstairs on an extension socket and getting these figures from the router:

      Connection Speed 3136 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.0 db 13.0 db

      When i connect into the master socket the attenuation and noise margin are very similar but my connection speed jumps to 6mb. So that was a great result, what i was wondering was if i fit a new faceplate but still use the upstairs extension for my modem will i be back to the 3mb connection or could it possibly improve it some? Or with the new faceplate on will the extension not even work anymore for adsl?

      Many thanks

      Dave.

    11. #70
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      With the ADSL nation faceplate you can wire in your extension as you would on the BT faceplate, and the faceplace has a built in microfilter. That means that you should still get the speed inprovement.

     

     
    Page 7 of 30 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION