Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 30 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi first of all iam a newbie to this site so bear with me secondly for those of you who ...

    1. #51
      dazzie66's Avatar
      dazzie66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      st helens
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi first of all iam a newbie to this site so bear with me secondly for those of you who dont no about your master socket heres a few specs {master socket}
      correct name nte5 ,there are 2 wires that screw directly int the back a and b leg blue wire , blue and white wire when you remove the front plate {exstention plate } directly behind this is the test socket plugging straight in to this rules out any dodgy exstention wiring ie damaged wire etc
      the correct set up for the exstention is simple you only need 3 wires 1,blue {connects to number 2} 2,white blue {connects to number 5 } 3 ringer orange {conncts to number 3 }that is the only 3 wires you need
      rember a phone socket works on a small eletrical circiut so any damaged wiring on your exstentions will affect your speeds unless you remove the exstention plate
      any body needs to no anything else about any other types of fault on the external bt network feel free to ask oh yea never use a screw driver on the nte5 you will damage the connecters use a krone tool


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site dazzie66

      Thats a great first post mate and thanks for all the info I am sure all the members will appreciate it
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #53
      dazzie66's Avatar
      dazzie66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      st helens
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      no probs if i can help in anyway just ask

    5. #54
      markbloke's Avatar
      markbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There's some nice info here :
      http://yarwell.blogspot.com/2005_08_...l_archive.html

      I'd also refer people reading this out the other thread dealing with telephone wiring, pointing out that if you're doing anything beyond plugging things into the test socket (i.e. rewiring the socket completely) then you're probably doing something illegal.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showt...ighlight=legal

      For what it's worth, burglars broke into my house and rewired my socket with a cheap ADSL filtered one off eBay a few weeks ago. The SNR margin improved a great deal but attenuation stayed the same (as that tends to be based on distance from the exchange).
      Connection Speed 13753 kbps Down - 766 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db Down - 18.7 db Up
      Noise Margin 7.0 db Down - 11.6 db Up

    6. #55
      dazzie66's Avatar
      dazzie66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      st helens
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yes bt can do you for it but as newsreader says you deny it and as for my wirering bit i have done it every day and have done for the past 10 years and the person who said dont mess with drop wire he is right its funney stuff to strip {unless you have the tool }but ug fed is a easy and a decent engineer will give u plenty of slack .
      and also i wrote that master socket bit to try and simplyfi problems as a damaged exstention causes most problems how ever other problems can be wet or damaged ug joints , cables etc but if i start going into these i would be here all day

    7. #56
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i would like to try this to see if it helps, but i wanted to kn ow how would i connect my router to the test socket, as the socket slot is different to my cable which runs from my router to the microfilter.

      thanks in advance

    8. #57
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Hi Gurvy have you got an old modem lead, that should do the trick
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #58
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yes i do..il give it a go, thanks for the quick reply.

    10. #59
      markbloke's Avatar
      markbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just stick the microfilter into the test socket. The ADSl socket in the microfilter is wired straight through to the RJ11 plug on your router cable so it'll act as an adapter. It's the telephone socket on the microfilter that has circuitry in front of it but don't plug anything in there while you're carrying out any tests.

      On the subject of microfilters, they can vary a lot in quality. The old one I had was utter rubbish compared to the filtered socket the burglars fitted. I remember a website that carried comparisons someplace, I'll try to dig it out.
      Connection Speed 13753 kbps Down - 766 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db Down - 18.7 db Up
      Noise Margin 7.0 db Down - 11.6 db Up

    11. #60
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      cheers mark

      this was the result before:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.5 db Noise Margin 7.4 db 28.0 db

      did a speed test (speedtest.net) got dl 1898kb/s ul 176kb/s

      then with the socket test

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps Line Attenuation 31.0 db 20.0 db Noise Margin 12,8 db 20.0 db

      same speed test dl 2598kb/s ul280kb/s

      abit better speeds but nowhere near the 8MB sky had quoted, i won't get anymore has i'm on connect!

     

     
    Page 6 of 30 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION