Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 25 of 30 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast
    Results 241 to 250 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok folks here's a scrambled egg for you. After much praise and backslapping on the early pages of this thread ...

    1. #241
      scooter.125's Avatar
      scooter.125 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      N Ireland
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Ok folks here's a scrambled egg for you.

      After much praise and backslapping on the early pages of this thread and I couldn't be A'd to read through all the thread pages I need an answer please on try your master socket for better results.

      I have been battling SKY for the best part of a year on my speed and got through to a SVBN team manager who asked me to use the test socket to check my speed as he thought my ADSL nation XTE2005 filtered face plate was a problem.

      I did so and this is where I need some clarity when I connect to the test socket my speed drops to around 800Kbps from 1344Kbps why would that be the case


      This manager told me that I should be getting nearer the 2000Kbps mark on SKY base up to 2Meg package @ the test socket; when I told him what I was getting 800Kbps using a SKY dongle filter he told me that was normal .

      Therefore in theory my face plate acts as an amplifier allowing me better speed I also get the same results when using the ADSL XF-1e professional filtered dongle in the test socket and master socket and it's not a shabby item either so is it an amp as well .

      All test carried out without telephone conversation was via mobile @ the time SNR was 7.4 and attenuation is 63.5Db with and without faceplate / SKY dongle. I only have one socket in the house the master with test in behind obviously.

      if you need any other info let me know.

      Cheers and thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #242
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Two reasons why you might get a poorer result from the Test socket than the ADSL faceplate.
      1. The filters supplied by Sky are of a fairly low quality.
      2. The plug was not making proper contact with the Test socket.

      You have a very long line. 63.5dbs is the maximum the router will read, it is possible your actual attenuation is nearer 70 dbs. I doubt if you will get any more than the 1300kbps you get with the faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #243
      scooter.125's Avatar
      scooter.125 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      N Ireland
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Sorry for not getting back earlier folks and thanks for any replies.

      I contacted SKY about my telephone line because it was getting hard to hear callers and vice-versa.
      SKY done a line test which was ok however they sent out a BT engineer who tested the line connections in the street and that improved the reception on the phone however about 8pm that night when I went to make a call the static on the line was so bad I couldn't hear the dialling tone.
      SKY sent out a BT engineer next day and he changed the line from the junction box to the house (was Blue and White now Orange and White) and hey presto:-

      2560Kbps, line att 63.5dB, 7.6dB noise
      608 Kbps, line att 31.5dB, 8.0dB noise

      However when I connect to the test socket it still drops quite a bit using either a SKY microfilter or ADSL Nation XF1E therefore is it correct to assume my line is still not correct?

      The latest BT engineer has told me that the filtered face plate does act as an amplifier to take out imperfections in the signal due to copper cabling but he agrees that it doesn't work that well.

      SKY have now told me that my line is capable of 2800Kbps yet the best I have seen in the test socket is 1800kbps and verified by BT engineer.

      Surely now when I connect to the test socket I should see 2800Kbps or so.

      Before and after complaining about telephone screen dumps included.

      Any more advice is appreciated. Cheers
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Try your master socket for better results-call-svbn-team-set-adsl-adsl-141109-1148-skyrout.jpg   Try your master socket for better results-21-07-10-cable-changed-exchange-green-sub-exch-what-should-have-been-.jpg  

    5. #244
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      However when I connect to the test socket it still drops quite a bit using either a SKY microfilter or ADSL Nation XF1E therefore is it correct to assume my line is still not correct?
      I think it is more likely you are not getting a proper connection in the Test socket. The change in line pairs has improved your line quite a bit. With your high attenuation you are doing very well getting 2.5Mb with a nice noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #245
      salvation's Avatar
      salvation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      This in fact only indicates that you have a problem with your internal wiring of extensions. If you also have a sky tv box which is required to be permantly plugged in you could also be giving yourself other problems.

    7. #246
      omskie's Avatar
      omskie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Hello! I've tried connecting through the master socket but it always shows "your internet connection is not available right now, please try again later". It works on all the other sockets but not on the master socket and the test socket.

    8. #247
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      So it works in an extension socket ?
      That would suggest that what you think is the master is possibly an old one that has been replaced. It should definetely work in the test socket.


    9. #248
      omskie's Avatar
      omskie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      I've tried it in the test socket as well. Removed the plate and inserted it in the test socket but still it says "not available this time, try again later". I even tried connecting my phone to test if it's working and it does have a dial tone. Yes, it works on the extension socket upstairs.

    10. #249
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      And you are plugging it into the test socket using a filter ?
      If yes then there is something amiss with the wiring of the test/master socket.
      Can you post a pic of the test socket with the front removed ?


    11. #250
      omskie's Avatar
      omskie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results



      That's the picture of the socket.
      The other 2 extension sockets works it's just this one that shows the "Unavailable this time".

     

     
    Page 25 of 30 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION