Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 21 of 30 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast
    Results 201 to 210 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Too little info to go on, It's easy to come to this conclusion, but it could be just a change ...

    1. #201
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Too little info to go on, It's easy to come to this conclusion, but it could be just a change in noise during the resyncs.
      But while you are at it, check that when you have the test socket exposed there is no dial tone at any other telephone sockets. This is important for correct operation of the XTE-2005 faceplate. With the test socket exposed, there should only be a dial tone at the test socket.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #202
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      with the test socket exposed. there is only dial tone on this phone. every other is off as its meant to be with the front panel disconnecvted.

      maybe my speed has gone up due to me fiddling with wire no 3 . looks like one of the iwres is nearly out . (i haave two wires in each 2,3,4, and 5 . )

      i opend up my extensions and niticed only two wires . one black and one blue. in my master these are indicated in nos 2 (black) and no 5 (blue)

      there is no yellow or orange wire in my extensions. does this mean i dont need these wires in my m,aster either. ive read around and its says that u only need wires 2 and 5. the rest supposedly cause interference. am i meant to cut off wires 3 and 4 . as these may the be the casue ???

    4. #203
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      When you use a filter faceplate you will need to reconnect the ring wire (the one to 3) at the extensions. you also connect this wire to 3 at the filter faceplate.
      The interferance problem does not apply when using a filter faceplate

    5. #204
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      im not currently using the new xte 2005. i jus got the old faceplate, not sure its filtered . my extensions have only wire 2 and 5 to them. whilst my master has 2 3 4 5 connected.

      what use does wire 3 & 4 have ??? aree they renderd useless

    6. #205
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      While waiting for the filter faceplate do this.
      (1) re-connect 3 at all extension sockets (you will need this when you fit a filter faceplate or your phones may not ring)

      (2) disconnect the wire from 3 at the master socket (do not cut it, you will need it when you fit the filter faceplate.

      (3) do not worry about the wire to 4. It serves no purpose on a domestic line.

    7. #206
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      i cant even see the orange wire for the extensions . this will be a tricky job to do.
      i do have digital coredless phone which supposedly doesnt require the bell wire. is it ok if i just pull out wires 3 from my master.

      even with my current set up my extensiojns dont have the bell wire. but the phone has alsways rang from them. this indicates i dont require it. i tink wire 3 is for 1980 phones lol

    8. #207
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Some modern phones need the ring wire, some don't. If your work without it then thats fine just leave it off at the extensions. You must disconnect the wire or wires to 3 at the master, you need not bother to reconnect them when you get the filter faceplate.
      If you have any problems with phones ringing or not when you get the filter faceplate, you may need to keep the micro-filters in place, but I doubt there will be any problem
      Last edited by Brian69; 12-06-08 at 01:43 PM.

    9. #208
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      great news !!!!!!

      i just removed the two no 3 wires from the master here are my new results.

      master socket test socket >>>>> 430kb
      masterr socket face plate >>>> from previous 290kb to 405kb/s

      this has clearly worked wonders . o2 say my max is 5.5
      lol im so tempeted to want more. you said wires 4 doesnt interfre . can u clarify this for certain.

    10. #209
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      You can take it from me that the wires on 4 do nothing on a domestic circuit, it is use for earth re-call on private exchanges. You have done all you can now just wait for the filter faceplate

    11. #210
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      pushed the wires realllyyyyyy bk and getting 4.7mb lol.

      thanks for your help in the meantime . much appreciated. will wait for faceplate. not sure if i need to fit it now. too scared too due to how hard it was jus to get wires 3 out lol with tweasers.

     

     
    Page 21 of 30 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION