Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 20 of 30 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast
    Results 191 to 200 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It's never a hard job, but what you need to do depends on how your wiring is arranged at present ...

    1. #191
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      It's never a hard job, but what you need to do depends on how your wiring is arranged at present (there are lots of differant ways to wire domestic extensions).
      Without these details I cannot give a "blow by blow" DIY guide, But the basic idea is that the NTE-5 master connects to the incoming line before any extension, and all other sockets are wired from it. This is important for correct operation of a filter faceplate.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #192
      xblade's Avatar
      xblade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Troon
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Ayrshire
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Hi Brian69

      I will have to try to find someone here, who can do the job for me

      If I was to purchase a master socket to replace the original one that BT fitted, what would I need to buy and where would I purchase it from?

      Thanks for advice
      Simon

    4. #193
      xblade's Avatar
      xblade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Troon
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Ayrshire
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      I have just seen this post in another message from John_Sayers

      ___
      If you dont have a BT master Socket with the test socket, ie you have an old style you can still fit a filtered face plate. Solwise sell one that comes with it's own back box - ADSL-FFP85D.

      ADSL Splitters, Microfilters & Telecoms Bits

      On this page you will also find an NTE5 Master Socket that will take the ADSLnation faceplate.

      ----
      Any thoughts?

      thanks
      Simon

    5. #194
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Your best bet is to get both items from ADSL Nation.
      You need a XTE-2005 filter faceplate and a NTE-5 master socket.
      If you can wait untill you mate who is the telecom guy, he would have no problems fitting these items.
      All he has to remember is that all extensions must be wired from the filter, and the master socket must be the first on line.

    6. #195
      xblade's Avatar
      xblade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Troon
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Ayrshire
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Hi Brain69

      Thanks for that great info, it has been very helpful

      I think I will purchase the items in preparation for them being fitted

      Thanks for being so helpful - wish you lived near by and then you could fit them LOL
      Regards
      Simon

    7. #196
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      hi guys , im new to this site. im having problems with my adsl 2 connection from 02. i get 2.8mb with the faceplate on and 4.8 from the test socket behind the master socket faceplate. this clearly indicates some interference going on. im not sure what though exactly. i been reading around and it is reccommended to change my master socket to the adsl nation xte. ive opened my master socket and im baffled .

      here is my wiring layout
      1- empty
      2- two black wires going into it
      3-two orange wires " "
      4-yellow wire
      5-blue wire
      6-empty

      now im not sure what i am required to do, is it just a matter or putting the same wires in the same place in the new xte ?????

      also i heard removing wire nos 3 will help to increase connecton speed . is this true ??
      thanks look foward for your assisatance.

      faz

    8. #197
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Yes you connect the wires from your existing faceplate ( the bit you removed to expose the test socket) to the same numbers on the ADSL nation XTE-2005.
      You will then need no other filters and need not worry about the ring line, as this is also filtered by the filter faceplate.
      The Yellow wire connected to 4 at present performs no function and you will find there is no connection for it on the filter faceplate, so you can leave this dissconnected (just coil it up and tuck it back in the socket)
      Your wire colours are not standard, they look like alarm cable, but do not worry, a filter faceplate will prevent this from causing any problems to your Broadband
      Last edited by Brian69; 11-06-08 at 01:29 PM.

    9. #198
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      hi thanks for your advice, i will get to work and let u know how it goes. jus another thing , these wires are tiny is it compulsary to buy a dpc tool (i think its called) insert the wires

    10. #199
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      When you buy the faceplate, it is only necessary to buy a couple of disposible ones.

    11. #200
      fas_k's Avatar
      fas_k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: 02 broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      hi agian, whilst i have been waiting to recive my xte-2005 , i thought id do some testing. here is what i got

      MASTER SOCKET

      >>>test socket behind frontplate >>>> max download speed 450kb/s
      >>> still master socket but outside frontpanel this time >> 295kb/s max

      i then tested it upstairs in me bedroom , the extension socket with the use of a filter dongle provided by 02.

      max speed >>>> 408kb/s

      does this show that the extensions are fine ????

      and that the frontpanel of the master is only thing that is nackered. ???

      the extensions speed is closer to the test socket than the frontpanel of the master soooo are my predicitons correct.

      thanks faz.

     

     
    Page 20 of 30 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION