Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 18 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast
    Results 171 to 180 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, i need help please!!! Im on the connect service. I have these stats from the router info screen download ...

    1. #171
      AgtX2007's Avatar
      AgtX2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Ok, i need help please!!!
      Im on the connect service.
      I have these stats from the router info screen
      download 288kbps
      upload 448kbps
      Line attenuation 52db noise 5.9 but its been 6.6

      So i took the cover off the master socket and plugged the modem in there. And what i get is
      download 4448kbps
      upload 448kbps

      BUT the actual speed i download at is the same as before....whats gonig on? In fact i see it start at 140kbps and drop right down to 19kbps whether its as it was or connected to the other socket behind the plate.

      Also when i try the "Sky test" it just says error : 300
      Last edited by AgtX2007; 29-10-07 at 09:47 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #172
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      i think the "connect" package may have "trained" to sync at the lower speed (due to poor wiring in your house) using your test socket shows how bad you line may been and is why you are syncing at 2 meg more.

      from what i have read about connect if you leave in the test socket for a few days as your router sync's over the next few days your with the better line conditions you may find your speed will increase
      (assuming you have quoted your max sync speed and not your d/l sync)

      could you post your detailed stats (start a new thread) and someone could have a look
      (and check i am not barking up the wrong tree / woof, woof)

      Also what are you using to test your d/l speed ?

    4. #173
      AgtX2007's Avatar
      AgtX2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      ok, how do i find my max sync speed?

      Thanks!

    5. #174
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Quote Originally Posted by AgtX2007 View Post
      ok, how do i find my max sync speed?

      Thanks!
      see first link in my sig, if you could then post detailed stats

    6. #175
      AgtX2007's Avatar
      AgtX2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      WOW! i left it plugged into the other socket overnight and now its gone from .25mb line to 4mb. I guess i need a new faceplate then. You lot are 1000000% more helpful than Skys rubbish customer service. Thanks
      Last edited by AgtX2007; 30-10-07 at 06:23 AM.

    7. #176
      Quarrrel's Avatar
      Quarrrel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      Unbelievable !!!

      I live some distance from exchange and a line ATTN of 63.5 so even with mid package I was happy enough with download speed of around 995. Just connected into master socket and immedietly the speed bounced right up to 3000, like I said unbelievable.

      Thx all

      Just 1 question though. As my master socket is in the attic, I've simpy used a spare dsl filter and plugged it into the test socket, plugged the faceplate into the filter phone connection and the router into the filter dsl socket. Looks untidy but will never get seen. Everything works fine at the moment but just wondering if there'll be any issues later ?
      Last edited by Quarrrel; 01-11-07 at 03:47 PM.

    8. #177
      rage99's Avatar
      rage99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      What happens when i take off the master socket faceplate?

    9. #178
      rage99's Avatar
      rage99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      I dont see how taking off a master socket faceplate makes your download faster??

    10. #179
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      when you remove the faceplate from a NTE5 master socket (see first link in my sig for visual) you are then using the test socket behind, this disocennects all you home telephone extentions and will let you know if your home wiring is not up to the job
      (see cabling and faceplate forum)

    11. #180
      Vengeanceuk's Avatar
      Vengeanceuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543462
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Try your master socket for better results

      i have an interesting problem, i've been looking into my wiring and where the telephone cable comes into my house and joins the first box it is not a master box with a test point. It is just a regular socket box. Can i just purchase a master box and install it myself?

     

     
    Page 18 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION