Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 12 of 30 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast
    Results 111 to 120 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Lol! One more question, promise last one AFAIK the XTE has terminals A, B, 2, 3, 4 and 5. I ...

    1. #111
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Lol! One more question, promise last one

      AFAIK the XTE has terminals A, B, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

      I have looked at my wires coming from my extensions and i have the following:

      For my extensions that i want only for phone (filtered) connections i have wire colours: Brown, orange, green and blue.

      For my extension that will be using for ADSL ONLY (unfiltered), i have orange with specks of white, white with specks of blue, blue with specks of white and white with specks of orange.

      Please could someone tell me when I get my XTE which coloured wires will be going where? This will simplify alot for me

      Thanks once more!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      There is a standard for wire colours which should be followed. However, though BT should have/will have followed the standard, whoever put the extensions in may not have.

      The colours don't actually matter. What matters is what the wires are connected to. The terminals are numbered on your existing mastersocket. Just make sure that you replicate the connections exactly on the new faceplate i.e whatever wire is connected to terminal 2 on the original, connect to terminal 2 on the replacement and so on.

      This is the standard BT wiring:

      Blue wire/White rings connector 2
      Orange wire/White rings connector 3
      White wire/Orange rings connector 4
      White wire/Blue rings connector 5

      Connectors 2 and 5 are your phone wires that carry the voice and ADSL signals. Connector 3 is your ringwire. Connector 4 is not used but usually connected "for neatness"

    4. #113
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      So then:

      blue wire with white rings and white wire with blue rings should go in the A and B terminals, the rest of the wires should just be replicated from the old faceplate.

    5. #114
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by kaybing27 View Post
      One more question, promise last one
      Really?

      Quote Originally Posted by kaybing27 View Post
      So then:
      blue wire with white rings and white wire with blue rings should go in the A and B terminals, the rest of the wires should just be replicated from the old faceplate.
      • If Blue/White is on 2 on the original connect to B on the replacement
      • If White/Blue is on 5 on the original connect to A on the replacement
      • the rest of the wires should just be replicated from the old

    6. #115
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Really?
      Sorrrrrryyyy

      Thanks very much! No more questions from me..............






      yet

    7. #116
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just to let you know, I installed the XTE today, really quite easy lol.

      My downrate (and this is on ****ty Plusnet, who I am currently migratiing from), I'm getting 6592kbps downrate, compared to a ~3000kbps, than I had before

      I guess it'll be even better on sky, as looking at the router stats guide on her, I am 1.6miles from the exchange so I should get a pretty high rate (well compared what I've been getting). Just got to get onto sky first!

      My router stats are attahed, don't know if they mean anything while i'm not on Sky.....

      Thanks everyone!

      EDIT: damn, attachment is really small, here is another:

      http://server6.theimagehosting.com/i...titled.a66.JPG
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Try your master socket for better results-untitled.jpg  
      Last edited by kaybing27; 15-11-06 at 02:44 PM.

    8. #117
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      According to this site:

      http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php

      you should expect between 6 and 10 Mbps.

    9. #118
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yo saturday,

      I put my faceplate on couple of days after ordering sky bb, will they have tested my line to see what speed I could get as soon as I ordered (when i had my old faceplate), or will they have not tested it yet, I don't wanna have my sync speed capped because they tested before my new faceplate.... What do you think?

      Thank you

    10. #119
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      To the best of my knowledge Sky normally cap lines following on from a customer calling in about problems.

      If they were to also cap at installation then I would have thought that this would be done on the basis of tests done at that time not days or weeks before.

    11. #120
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks

     

     
    Page 12 of 30 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION