Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have read a lot of Muppet13's posts on this Website and I think I know him. If you have ...

    1. #91
      Savaloyking's Avatar
      Savaloyking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marine
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have read a lot of Muppet13's posts on this Website and I think I know him. If you have a triangle for a head and really are a muppet I suggest that you move your power socket to the hallway so Jo can hoover more effectively.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Deleted

      EDIT: Misread reread your post
      Last edited by Saturday; 08-11-06 at 05:49 PM.

    4. #93
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think my problems are with the wireless connection I have to the router (Netgear WG111T). When the icon in the system tray shows green my download speed is considerably better than when it shows orange. Is there anyway of having a wired connection to the router if I haven't got a LAN port?

    5. #94
      Parva's Avatar
      Parva is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've just tried plugging directly into socket behind faceplate to see if it would make any difference and am a little puzzled on one figure.

      Basically I get around 6304 down and 768 up and that's pretty much the same with or without faceplate as is noise at 7.0 and 9.0 but the line attenuation changed dramatically!

      Plugged into faceplate - 55.0 31.5
      Plugged into master - 15.5 31.5

      I've tried it twice and got same results. I've no idea what that means or why the figures vary so widely!

    6. #95
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have just unscrewed the faceplate of my master socket, downstairs to see what it was like, lots of wires i see... Is really easy to install the XTE-2005 as everyone says?? What's the process like, any soldering or anything difficult?

      I use an extension upstairs for my broadband, are you saying that if were to install this new faceplate, I would get the same speeds as I do from plugging my router from the socket behind the faceplate (test socket?) as I would upstairs, through the extension --> microfilter socket?

      Does it matter that my extension upstairs doesn't seem to be the same type of socket than the master one downstairs? (it is smaller and older looking) or is that the difference, one is master the other is extension.

      Thanks alot, bear with me.

    7. #96
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Quote Originally Posted by kaybing27 View Post
      I have just unscrewed the faceplate of my master socket, downstairs to see what it was like, lots of wires i see... Is really easy to install the XTE-2005 as everyone says?? What's the process like, any soldering or anything difficult?
      Yes - very easy, how ever may look daunting

      Quote Originally Posted by kaybing27 View Post
      I use an extension upstairs for my broadband, are you saying that if were to install this new faceplate, I would get the same speeds as I do from plugging my router from the socket behind the faceplate (test socket?) as I would upstairs, through the extension --> microfilter socket?
      Yes

      Quote Originally Posted by kaybing27 View Post
      Does it matter that my extension upstairs doesn't seem to be the same type of socket than the master one downstairs? (it is smaller and older looking) or is that the difference, one is master the other is extension.
      Should not do, the one downstairs should be the master and so has more circuitry

      Welcome to skyuser.co.uk btw
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #97
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Wow, thanks for the quick reply, as soon as I get sky broadband I will deffinately be getting a XTE-2005, does the one off adslnation come with a 'puncher' thing to punch in the wires, or does that need to be ordered seperately?

      Thanks for you help! If you have any spare time could you answer my questions in another thread i have raised about joining sky? I will be very gratefull.

      Thanks!

    9. #98
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      does the one off adslnation come with a 'puncher' thing to punch in the wires, or does that need to be ordered seperately?
      Needs to be ordered seperately

      If you have any spare time could you answer my questions in another thread i have raised about joining sky?
      Will go and have a look for you now
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #99
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry Newsreader, can I just clarify here. Doesn't the fitting of an XTE-2005 turn kaybing 27's extension socket upstairs into a filtered voice line to which he is unable to connect his router? Just keen to clarify this as this was the problem I had. Wanted to run my router by my computer from an extension socket in a different room to the master socket (no power by master socket!?!) but by connecting wires to terminals 2, 3 and 5 I got filtered voice lines that I couldn't run the router from. I understand that connection to the A and B terminals gives you an unfiltered line to the extension from which you can run the router from (but therefore cancelling out the benefit of buying the filtered faceplate in the first place).

    11. #100
      kaybing27's Avatar
      kaybing27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That is what i was also thinking too... once you get the xte-2500 installed in the master, is that the only place you can run your router from, or can u microfilter an extension and it work just as good. I think you've already answered that question with a yes, but just to clarify... or would it be better to set up my router downstairs (its not far it all. ~5m), wirelessy an have a wireless connection from the master, rather than a wired connection from an extension.

      Hope you understand me, confusing myself here a bit... lol

      Ta

     

     
    Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION