Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    How do I create an ADSL Extension?

    This is a discussion on How do I create an ADSL Extension? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm hoping someone can help me with a faceplate / wiring question. Got my faceplate installed and it's working fine. ...

    1. #1
      eglons's Avatar
      eglons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      I'm hoping someone can help me with a faceplate / wiring question.

      Got my faceplate installed and it's working fine. However the master socket is in a bedroom and I really need the router to be near me so I can work wired.

      I have an extension wire running to my study which has 6 wires in it. I therefore assumed that if I took an unused pair of wires and connected them to the A/B pair on the back of the adslnation NTE5 faceplate and then connected the other end of the wires to the 2 and 5 pins on the telephone socket I would effectively pass the adsl signal to the extension and be able to plug the router into it.

      Theory is great, but in practice it's not working! Am I misunderstanding how this should work?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      You should only have two wires connecting your ADSL Nation Faceplate to your extension.

      A and B on the faceplate go to pins 2 and 5 at the extension.

      The remainder of the wires should not be connected at either end.

      Connect an ADSL filter to the extension and away you go.

      You need another filter at the extension because both ADSL and telephone signals are fed from the A and B terminals.
      Last edited by penrhyn; 01-12-07 at 05:02 PM.


    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      Is it the ADSL pre-filtered faceplate or standard master socket face plate?

    5. #4
      eglons's Avatar
      eglons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Is it the ADSL pre-filtered faceplate or standard master socket face plate?
      It's the pre-filtered one.

    6. #5
      eglons's Avatar
      eglons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      You should only have two wires connecting your ADSL Nation Faceplate to your extension.

      A and B on the faceplate go to pins 2 and 5 at the extension.

      The remainder of the wires should not be connected at either end.

      Connect an ADSL filter to the extension and away you go.

      You need another filter at the extension because both ADSL and telephone signals are fed from the A and B terminals.
      Actually it's a little more complicated than I explained. The extension goes from the master box to a junction box downstairs where separate feeds are taken and one goes upstairs and the other down. I've connected the green pair to A/B and the blue pair to 2/5 and proved that the right signals are getting to the junction box... but beyond the junction box I dont see the signal.

      I think I've convinced myself that the wiring is too messy and I either need to run a cat5 cable from A/B to my study or use ethernet over power to send the signal rather than wireless.

    7. #6
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      so i can use my old phone sockets then? to connect my modem/router? even the BT done only 1 socket and thats my master socketdownstairs, and we got phone socket upstairs...
      ________
      VAPORIZER WHOLESALER
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 03:48 PM.

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      @eglons - i agree cat 5 from your master to the adsl sited next to your pc, thats the way I've done it and it works faultlessly.
      Others on here have reported favorably on the over mains option - bit more pricy than a few metres of cat5 tho depends on your circumstances ie how easy it is to fish the cable thro.


    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      or use ethernet over power to send the signal rather than wireless.

      i use the Delovo adapters which are great (but cost about 80ish) and was only because i'm to lazy to do the wiring

    10. #9
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      so i can use my old phone sockets then? to connect my modem/router? even the BT done only 1 socket and thats my master socketdownstairs, and we got phone socket upstairs...
      how about my post? >.< is it possible to do this on my other phone socket, so i can use my phone socket upstairs...?
      ________
      Expert Insurance
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 03:50 PM.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: How do I create an ADSL Extension?

      @aganuz - Theoretically yes but it is not good practice. Any type of extension lead whether it be plug in hardwired will most likely introduce errors. The ideal solution is to either hardwire an extension in cat 5 cable from the master or site the router next to the master and use a long ethernet cable to the pc.


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION