Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 92

    Going bald slowly......

    This is a discussion on Going bald slowly...... within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; have you tried fitting an ADSL nation face plate to your master socket and running any extenstion from this. that ...

    1. #11
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      have you tried fitting an ADSL nation face plate to your master socket and running any extenstion from this. that way no extra filters needed anywhere as its all split at the begining ?

      the way i read your other posts you have been runing extenions from the BT master socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      I've only got one extenstion and thats running my modem and fax machine. I dont have a filtered master socket available but I might move my filtered one thats at the end of the extenstion and place that next door to the master and run a filtered line from that.

      Can only work or fail.

      Regards.

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      have you tried fitting an ADSL nation face plate to your master socket and running any extenstion from this. that way no extra filters needed anywhere as its all split at the begining ?

      the way i read your other posts you have been runing extenions from the BT master socket
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #13
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      On the phone to a very nice chap at sky who uses these forums and it looks like an exchange problem.

      hope its fixed soon.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      it won't be an exchange issue - you'd more than likely benefit from having an nte5 master fitted and either run router there and run ethernet to the PC or fit a dedicated extention purely for BB....i can't see how extentions issues would equal exchange issue - I think the Sky agent got that one wrong....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      Well concidering I've used the test socket with a filter, with a filtered face place and Im still getting the noise and bad disconnects.

      The Sky agent said it sounded like the adsl was not being filtered at the exchange hence when I plug the router in and turn that on from the master test socket I get noise on the line.

      Now its a wait for Sky and BT to get back.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      ah, in that case it'll need a TPS - have you had a replacement router yet? protocol says you have to have had a new one first before they'll TPS it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      He has had a replacement router as I spoke to the customer myself this afternoon. Same issue same problem even dropping the line to down to 128/128/64/64 crc's started to creep up.

      SNR was fine Attenuation was fine as well. Thing I found weird was that anytime the customer plugged in the router noise just basically took over the phone line. I've since escilated this to BT On Net Escilations and spoke to another C.S.T after the call in Dunfermline and he verified everything that I done and even he said that it would need to go to BT ONE (On Net Escilations) and if necessary a TPS although a TPS is more or less the last straw but I am monitiring the customers fault and I am going to check it daily when I am on duty and call the customer with updates as soon as I see them come through.

    9. #18
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      Hi Guys,

      Thanks Narl for all your help and advice, its nice to hear and get some helpfull comments and someone that knows what they are on about.

      Look forward to our chat soon.

      Regards,

      Brian
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    10. #19
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      No problem Brian

      What is the line currently synched at?

    11. #20
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Going bald slowly......

      Ready for it

      Up: 768
      Down: 4.544

      Faster if I deliver all the packets via royal mail

      Anyway, its been going on and off all day and resetting itself.

      Im now officially bald and slowly going blind as well.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     
    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION