Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

    This is a discussion on All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Would a 27 meter external extension cable cause any problems, to the broadband signal. And keep the posts of the ...

    1. #11
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      Would a 27 meter external extension cable cause any problems, to the broadband signal.

      And keep the posts of the improvements that the XTE 2005 faceplate, has made to your connections, i am just buliding up an idea of what improvements i may get as a result of using the XTE 2005.

      Thanks for all of your replys. More would be welcomed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      What's your extension for?
      If the answer is a telephone then no.
      If its to extend the ADSL signal then yes you will probably lose speed.
      Its always best to connect the router as close to the master socket as possible.
      Most people would recommend you either use wireless or extend the ethernet connection.
      If you are extending the ADSL then the only effect the faceplate will have is to make for a neater installation, their will be little to no change in performance.


    4. #13
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      How about using cat5 cable, and can this cable be got from a shop or only online.

      Thanks.......

    5. #14
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      Would a 27 meter external extension cable cause any problems, to the broadband signal.
      Any extensions on the ADSL side must be run in Cat5/Cat5e cable to maintain signal quality.

      JaX

    6. #15
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      Can you buy external cat5 cable in the shops, if so, which ones sell it.

    7. #16
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      Can someone tell me why the BT line speed tester says i can only get 4.5Mb or greater, and with sky i am currently sync at 8.2Mb.

    8. #17
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: All those of you out there, with filtered faceplates

      8.2 Mbps is greater than 4.5Mbps, which is what they have predicted.
      Maybe their checker is only for ADSL max i.e up to 8mbps.
      Why don't you use the one on this site?


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION