Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Telephone extension wiring help

This is a discussion on Telephone extension wiring help within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In my hallway I have a BT master socket that connects 2 extension sockets; one into the living room which ...

mdstone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Telephone extension wiring help

In my hallway I have a BT master socket that connects 2 extension sockets; one into the living room which I use for telephone and sky+ (filtered) and the other runs upstairs to my office which I will use for ADSL.

The problem I have is that the extensions are both wired into the master socket onto the same IDC connector (on top of one another). As a result I can't get a dial tone on the extension socket in my office. Looking at the inside of the master socket face plate I can see that the extension that isnt working has the wires connected to the IDC connector directly ON TOP of the other extension wires and I have a suspicion that the contacts aren't touching correctly.

Correct me if i'm wrong but isn't this wiring a bit amatuer?

What I would like to know is, are there any master socket flace plates (NTE5 compatable) that have 2 sets of IDC connectors and 2 outputs so that I can rewire the extensions to seperate connectors?

This is the easy option, otherwise the only other option I can see would be a junction box but this would be more costly, more work and will look ugly.
      It is not possible for me to run the non working extension to the other extension in the living room (like a daisy chain) as it is too far away and I can't see this having any benefit.

Any help much appreciated.