Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

    This is a discussion on Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?... within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, Recently had Sky 'connect' installed (last tuesday) and ever since I've been experiencing major speed issue's (fastest I've ...

    1. #1
      Ben Tiff's Avatar
      Ben Tiff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleethorpes (01472)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Hi there,

      Recently had Sky 'connect' installed (last tuesday) and ever since I've been experiencing major speed issue's (fastest I've had is 0.4mb). After posting on this forum and speaking to sky they reassured me that for the first few days speeds can be irratic and that speeds should increase soon enough... nope!

      Anyway I think i've diagnosed the problem, I have extensions running from the master socket and going to every room in my house, so I removed the faceplate (thus removing the extensions) and connected the modem to the one behind it... Bam! 7.2mb speeds! (which I was quite happy with as I'm not too close to the exchange and was expected about 5mb)... Obviously there is a hell of alot of noise on the extensions and this is causing the problem.

      So now I'm left with another problem... Is there anyway I can have these extensions connected without interfering with the adsl signal?

      I've looked at the threads on ADSL nations NTE-2005 and XTE-2005 replacement master sockets but was still left a bit puzzled to whether they'd help me or not? I'm not bothered about having my modem situated where my master socket is, so don't need to run an extension for the adsl, I just wouldn't mind keeping my extensions for my telephone lines?

      Thanks for any help!

      Ben.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ben Tiff's Avatar
      Ben Tiff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleethorpes (01472)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Oh yeah, I'm at work at the minute so can't post any router stats if needed until later or photo's...

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      the NTE-2005 will allow you to run extentions round the house with no BB signal on them so you wont need any more filters so it will be what you want - best thing i ever did myself too (im on BT so same as connect and although im only on 2MB my sync went from around 2 to 5 once i fitted the nte faceplate!!)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Ben Tiff's Avatar
      Ben Tiff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleethorpes (01472)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Nice one! sounds like what i need then!,

      Is the XTE-2005 the updated version of the NTE-2005 or what? do you know the difference?

      Cheers,

      Ben.
      Mmmm... free goo...

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      get the NTE...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Ben Tiff's Avatar
      Ben Tiff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleethorpes (01472)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Why? whats the difference?

      They're showing -2 stock for the NTE?!... but 500+ for the XTE...
      Mmmm... free goo...

    8. #7
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Quote Originally Posted by Ben Tiff View Post
      Why? whats the difference?
      Read this: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...ace-plate.html

      JaX

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Also worth checking wires are only connected to pins 2 and 5 from your master to your extensions, extra wires connected can cause problems.

    10. #9
      Ben Tiff's Avatar
      Ben Tiff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleethorpes (01472)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      Yeah I've read that,

      But I can't get an NTE! only an XTE, anyway from what i've read there, the XTE is better?... especially for ADSL2? which will be good for LLU? when we finally get it in 6 months or so.

      I think i'm right there? please correct me if i'm not!

      So in other words it would be better for me to get the NTE and then get an XTE when LLU comes in? apart from the fact I can't get an NTE so i might just lump it with an XTE...
      Mmmm... free goo...

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Bad problem with extensions coming from master socket I think?...

      why do u think they're out of stock of the nte and have loads of xte's? lol

      seriously, the nte is fine - with regards with the issues ur having (linking to your other post in speed tests) id assume the bad extentions are what have caused ur speed to be set low...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION