Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    8Mb showing as 4Mb

    This is a discussion on 8Mb showing as 4Mb within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First week or so, I always had 8mb but now I get around 4/5/6Mb ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed ...

    1. #1
      rockgeek's Avatar
      rockgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      8Mb showing as 4Mb

      First week or so, I always had 8mb but now I get around 4/5/6Mb

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5376 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.8 db 14.0 db

      I'm on the 8mb package. My connection seemingly cuts out every so often.

      Is there a guide on what I could do? I ran the "TCPOptimizer.exe" but my router still says 5Mb (or thereabouts) where it did say 8Mb for first 2 weeks (not in my 4th week)

      Went to: Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test and got:

      DL: 1100kbps
      UL: 120kbps

      Many thanks in advance
      Last edited by rockgeek; 25-09-07 at 08:25 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      noise margin looks very low which could account for your dropouts, have a look in the router forum for some idears how to help
      you could also post your full stats to see if errors have affected your speed

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      You have a line problem as shown by your low sync in relation to your attenuation. You're not capped. You'll find the cabling and faceplate help forum has info on diagnosing and fixing most line problems.

      However, your disconnections are probably down to a dropping noise margin (unless your line errors are very bad). See the first sticky in my signature for info.

      TCPOptimizer doesn't/can't affect your router stats or your sync speed in any way. It works on settings in the PC.
      Last edited by Saturday; 25-09-07 at 09:32 PM.

    5. #4
      rockgeek's Avatar
      rockgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      noise margin looks very low which could account for your dropouts, have a look in the router forum for some idears how to help
      you could also post your full stats to see if errors have affected your speed
      FULL STATS:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4416 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 36.0 23.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 4992 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 4416 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 139(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 139 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1142 17.0666
      L: 1120 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 566178 566176
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 38500122 2406248
      RSCorr: 5640 188
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 100247495 0
      Data Cells: 942841 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8 0
      SES: 8 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 2 hours 40 min 52 sec
      SF = 566178
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 40 min 52 sec
      SF = 566178
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 52 sec
      SF = 38404
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1


      The basic stats are now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4416 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.4 db 14.0 db
      Last edited by rockgeek; 26-09-07 at 06:46 PM.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      Thread moved to cabling and faceplate help forum at poster's request.

    7. #6
      rockgeek's Avatar
      rockgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Thread moved to cabling and faceplate help forum at poster's request.
      Thanks.

      Basic stats are now:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5248 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 14.0 db

      Keep changing!

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      Quote Originally Posted by rockgeek View Post

      Keep changing!
      That's how it works. Every time you reboot the router or disconnect the router will sync to the best speed it can for the current line conditions and line conditions tend to change through the day.

      As already suggested, see the first sticky in my signature for a more detailed explanation of this and why you are/were getting disconnections.

    9. #8
      rockgeek's Avatar
      rockgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodgate
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 8Mb showing as 4Mb

      I went to make some tea, checked and it had changed slightly. I also thought the 1st set said 4Mb so apologies I'm 2.6km from my exchange and in theory should be getting higher than 11800kbps (yes - in theory). There is only one phoneline in the entire house, not being used by anything else.

      I still don't understand as for the first 3 weeks, I was getting a constant 8Mb, no matter what day or time of the day. Now it just stays around 4/5Mb.

      Just ran: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/tools/speedchecker.php and it says: " We have determined your line is capable of upto 5mb or 5500Kbps. " I wouldn't mind, but why must I be teased with 8mb access for 3 weeks?
      Last edited by rockgeek; 26-09-07 at 08:10 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION