Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

    This is a discussion on Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm having to use my master socket in the dinning room at the moment as i seem to have very ...

    1. #1
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      I'm having to use my master socket in the dinning room at the moment as i seem to have very poor wire and extension sockets in my house.


      So now i'm all sorted and getting great speeds i need to move my computer back upstairs but i need to run either a RJ11 to RJ11 ( modem to phone socket filter) or a ethernet cable from the dinning room to my office ustairs.


      But i'm going to need between 20/25meters of wire. As i'm going to have to take it outside and bring it back in through the attic then down into the office.


      Which option would i be better to take and less likely to suffer any problems and loss of connection on?


      Thanks

      Scott


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      as said in previous thread, ethernet all the way......RJ11 is just another phone extention so will give u the same issues (probably), best to rule it out and stick with ethernet as its made to be as long as needed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      as said in previous thread, ethernet all the way......RJ11 is just another phone extention so will give u the same issues (probably), best to rule it out and stick with ethernet as its made to be as long as needed
      I was pretty sure it would be ethernet just wanted to be sure cheers buddy.

    5. #4
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      An alternative to buying a very long ethernet cable is to buy a length of RJ11 plugged CAT5 cable. It can work out cheaper than ethernet, which for some reason gets a premium price. Both are basically CAT5 with different plugs. ADSLnation sells it. Doing it this way brings the router to where you have the pc. I prefer to keep my modem in sight.

      JaX

    6. #5
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRCHE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      your router should be as close to your master socket as possible not near your pc. CAT5 cable is ethernet cable. Doing what JaXanim suggests would still be adding length to your telephone cable and therefore potentially reduced speed.
      Keep your router near the master socket and take a cat5 cable upto your pc.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      A hardwired extension outlet next to the pc wired in cat5e works perfectly well.
      This has the added benefit of allowing the router to sit next to the pc, and also helps if you have xbox etc in same room.


    8. #7
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      Quote Originally Posted by slinky View Post
      your router should be as close to your master socket as possible not near your pc.
      Why?

      CAT5 cable is ethernet cable. Doing what JaXanim suggests would still be adding length to your telephone cable and therefore potentially reduced speed. Keep your router near the master socket and take a cat5 cable upto your pc.
      I don't think your read my post properly. I suggested wiring from the master to the router in RJ11 terminated CAT5. CAT5 cable is equivalent to the BT drop line. It's not the same as the 'telephone' cable you refer to. CAT5 doesn't pick up interference like indoor 'telephone' cable. Whether the router is by the master socket or near a distant pc makes no difference provided CAT5 is used.

      JaX
      Last edited by JaXanim; 14-09-07 at 03:06 PM.

    9. #8
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRCHE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      The whole point is to put the minimum possible distance between your modem ie router and your local exchange. That is the measure which determines much of your adsl speed / signal quality.
      If you absolutely insist on extending that distance with an extension cable then use the best quality shielded cable, which is what jaxanim suggests.
      However what the heck is the point of doing that when you could lay ethernet cable instead with a proper rj45 plug on each end and have your router next to your master socket.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      25m ethernet off eBay for 6 - hardly breaking the bank....

      given, postage is another 7 but still not a lot...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRCHE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending wire needed RJ11 to RJ11 or a Ethernet cable

      no ones talking about expense (or lack of), its the pointless exercise of extending phone lines using ethernet cable when you could put rj45 plugs on the end and do it properly

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION