Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Wires!

    This is a discussion on Wires! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well i have this type of Master. The bottom one is labeled 2 and top is 5. Which wires should ...

    1. #1
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wires!

      Well i have this type of Master.



      The bottom one is labeled 2 and top is 5. Which wires should i remove?
      Last edited by jmanderson69; 29-08-07 at 08:29 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Remove the connections to pins 3 and 4.

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      Haven't seen one of these before must be the cost reduced faceplate with no pins 1 and 6.


    4. #3
      unity's Avatar
      unity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      Remove the connections to pins 3 and 4.

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      Haven't seen one of these before must be the cost reduced faceplate with no pins 1 and 6.
      That part of the master socket is the part that you connect your extentions on. If you have any extentions, just use number 5 & 2 off this part of the socket. If you have no extentions, then this part of the socket that you are showing us can just be replaced with nothing connected. Otherwise just use 5& 2 for all ext.

    5. #4
      vshears's Avatar
      vshears is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sandown
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Brading, Isle of Wight
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      This is interesting just today I found my master socket (or possibly one on 2 master sockets!) tucked away in the back of a storage area at the top of the house and it is similar to the photograph above. The main difference is it does not have a socket on the front ! i.e. a cable is connected to the front half which seems to go to a distribution box which connects to the various extensions around the house.

      It had 3 wires connected to it (IIRC to 1,2 and 5) so I disconnected the 3rd one leaving only 2 and 5 connected.

      Vic

    6. #5
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Well i removed wires from 3 and 4 in both sockets, no difference though.

    7. #6
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Have a look at your basic router stats and post the results, I'm envious of your speed already though.

      http://192.168.0.1/start.htm

      user: admin

      password: sky

      Click on show statistics.


    8. #7
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Heres my stats. My SNR is much lower than when i was on Connect. Was around 15...

      Connection Speed 15241 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 13.0 db

    9. #8
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Is that with the router plugged into the test socket or an extension?
      If its the latter try again using the test socket.

      As I understand it Connect is up to 8mbps, so your noise margin figure will be greater than it will be at 16mbps or so.

      Looks like it may be an idea to post your full stats for those more knowledgable than me to analyse. have the router running for a good few hours before you collect the stats to give a better idea of the noise on your line.


    10. #9
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Thats with everything all plugged in. Test socket has just an extra decible and same speed, so i dont know lol.

    11. #10
      glixd's Avatar
      glixd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01223
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wires!

      Help wanted please.

      I have a new house and am new to ADSL (the old one was cable).

      BT have fitted a 2 part master socket last week (i.e. you unscrew the face plate to reveal 4 punchdown points and 2 more screws. Remove these and the rest of the plate comes off the wall revealing 2 screw down connections - this sort of plate has been described on another thred that I can't find). The blue and blue/white wires have been terminated on the screw terminals on the main inner plate. They have left 4 wires unterminated (orange, white/orange, green and white/green).

      The builders have installed Cat5 diasy chained points throught the house (why diasy chained I have no idea) including the study. I want to put my ADSL router there. I know I will need to use a mod tap to convert the RJ45 point to a BT jack and then use a microfilter to split to the an RJ11 for the ADSL modem and BT point.

      Question is what 4 wires of the 8 wires going round the house do I need to connect on the front part of the BT master socket (4 punchdown points numbered 2 to 5) ?

      I know this will depend on how the installers of the RJ45 sockets in the house have terminated the points. I have had one of these off the wall an here is what I found - a black block that takes 4 terminations on the left and right hand sides (looking at the back of the wall plate) with 2 wires of the same colour terminated in each (hence the daisychain between points) -

      LEFT RIGHT
      white/blue green
      blue white/orange
      white/green white/brown
      orange brown

      Not sure which pins these refer to of the RJ45 socket.

      Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

      Glix D

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION