Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

    This is a discussion on Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone! First off can I say, stumbled across this site lunchtime today and it looks like a fantastic place ...

    1. #1
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Hi everyone! First off can I say, stumbled across this site lunchtime today and it looks like a fantastic place for Sky users. No doubt I will be visiting the forum many times in the future!

      I've been hearing that I may be able to improve my broadband performance by change the faceplate, and decided to investigate further (hence finding this site). I'm currently on Sky's MAX package, but have never received anything higher than 12.5mb. I did a bit of reading and decided to see what would happen if I tested my master socket. I'm a bit new to this though, so I wanted to see if I'm doint the right thing, so I've included pictures...

      BEFORE:


      Router Stats:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 24.0 14.0
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17420 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8

      AFTER:



      Router Stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 24.0 14.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17720 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8


      Have I found anything out from this at all?

      Thanks for your time.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      It would appear that you have very little to gain by installing an XTE-2005 faceplate. Your maximum rate has only gone up from 17420 to 17720 and this is as a result of increasing your SNR margin from 10.6db to 11.1. It is such a small change that it could simply be a standard variation between each time the modem connected.

      So in your case it would seem that a faceplate is not necessary unless you would prefer a filter fixed in place rather than a dangly filter on your windowsill.
      adslnation

    4. #3
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Thanks for your reply!

      Is there no way I can improve my speed from 12.5mb then? It is a bit annoying to be missing out on around 25% of that potential bandwith.

    5. #4
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      I've just found out that I'm only 0.5 miles from my exchange and getting 23.5 db line attenuation... should I really be missing out on that much??

    6. #5
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      You are actually connected at around 15mb, the reduction in speed is probably due to the speed test site used or congestion. Try doing a speed test here:

      Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed

      It looks like you been locked by sky at that connection speed, so there is nothing you can do unless they remove that limitation. You should get the full 16mb with your stats

    7. #6
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      The speed test just about reaches 13mb although I've never gone above more than 12ish when downloading from newsgroups.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Don't confuse sync speed with throughput. The TCP/IP protocol has quite heavy transmission overheads - typically 15-20%. i.e. a sync of 15323kbps will typically deliver a download speed of ~12250kbps.

      15323kbps seems to be the maximum sync speed that Sky initially set new Max users to.

    9. #8
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Initially? Can that change then?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Sort of. It's not unknown for T3 to set the sync a little higher than that following a call to them if the attenuation/line condition allows.

      15meg not fat enough for you?

    11. #10
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Well that's the problem - I'm not getting 15meg! I'm only getting 12.5.

      I've never known this kind of loss before. I used to be on 4Mb and got pretty much full whack then, and I know a couple of people on 20Mb with Virgin Media and they also get very little loss at all. Losing this much speed when I have a line that should in theory allow the best possible result is very frustrating.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION