Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

    This is a discussion on Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I only get around 8meg or so on MAX and i would be more than happy with 12meg and feel ...

    1. #11
      lopster's Avatar
      lopster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgeton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Erm...
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      I only get around 8meg or so on MAX and i would be more than happy with 12meg and feel that is should be enough to please most, if you want more then sky is not really for you.

      You could try buying a ISP

      *chuckles

      But another thing to remember is its UP TO 16 meg on sky so really they could give ya 1 and get away with it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Quote Originally Posted by Daydream_Spy View Post
      Well that's the problem - I'm not getting 15meg! I'm only getting 12.5.
      Could you read my post again.

      You are getting 15meg. Sky in common with every ISP I have come across quotes the speed of the connection. You are connected at 15323kbps. Your throughput can not equal your connection sync speed due to transmission overheads.

    4. #13
      Daydream_Spy's Avatar
      Daydream_Spy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Could you read my post again.

      You are getting 15meg. Sky in common with every ISP I have come across quotes the speed of the connection. You are connected at 15323kbps. Your throughput can not equal your connection sync speed due to transmission overheads.
      Then why when I was on 4meg did I download at 4meg? And why do Virgin users I know on 20meg download at 20meg?

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      You didn't, they don't.

      Argue the point as much as you like but the TCP/IP protocol has overheads which limit the throughput to less than the connection sync. Then there's the fact that an ADSL line will generate some errors (the faster the connection the more likely the errors irrespective of line quality - generally not an issue with cable though) and this means data needs to be retransmitted. Retransmission means lower throughput again.

      Possibly you're being misled by the strange reporting of some speed test sites which inflate the throughput figures to allow for the overheads? Or what windows says it is downloading at - which is only vaguely accurate?
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-08-07 at 12:09 PM.

    6. #15
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      There is also the other fact that there may be multiple other people using there connection at the same time and so sky can not provide the max speed.

      Have you tried this: http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

      Have you also tried downloading a file off a fast server to see the speed, such as:

      http://download.intervideo.com/windv...nu/WinDVD8.exe

    7. #16
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      i would kill for a decent connection

      i can barely get above 2560kbps

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Would I benefit from an XTE-2005 filter?

      Quote Originally Posted by samperry209 View Post
      i would kill for a decent connection
      You have a very decent connection considering your attenuation.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION