Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    What About Second Socket?

    This is a discussion on What About Second Socket? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by JaXanim Theoretically it shouldn't but reports elsewhere on this site suggests a minor deterioration could result. JaX ...

    1. #11
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      Quote Originally Posted by JaXanim View Post
      Theoretically it shouldn't but reports elsewhere on this site suggests a minor deterioration could result.

      JaX

      It caused major problems in my case causing the router to disconnect 2 or 3 times an hour. Been up and running for 5 months now with no problems since disconnecting the ring wire.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      kanwar786's Avatar
      kanwar786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      Ive been told that the artificially high SNR is because of me being capped. I have taken out wire 3 from my master socket. what else can i do to improve my wiring before calling sky to tell them tp uncapp? thanks.

    4. #13
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      From my understanding of it all, the higher the SNR the better. After all you want a high Signal strength and a low Noise factor.

      what else can i do to improve my wiring
      Fit the filtered faceplate.

      JaX

    5. #14
      kanwar786's Avatar
      kanwar786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      OK so i need to take BT faceplate off my master socket and fit the ADSL nation one. right i'll do that.

      where is the noise level in my statistics could you please point it out to me because i am a bit poor in understanding these stats.

      From looking at my stats what speed do you think about sky saying my line can only handle 4mb consistently. Namely i am referring to erros such as ES, LOS etc u knw what i mean bro right?

      If these are not conclusive is there any other tests i can take and show you the results. btw i think the skyuser.co.uk/tools section only shows a max of 4mb on my line because it has been capped to that figure.

      NB: do you know what a 'bulk regrade' is as mentioned on the other thread?

      I have just used the latest mognuts utility and am getting slightly different figures. i will post here for convenience if needed. i humbly request please analyse in tandem with my enquiry if possible:


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 320 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3264 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 23.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 38.0 23.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.4 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 9760 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 3264 320

      G.dmt framing
      K: 103(0) 11
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 103 11
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1538 17.3333
      L: 832 96
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 6109228 6109226
      SFErr: 0 52
      RS: 207713782 25964210
      RSCorr: 146212 1372
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 24
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 799503163 0
      Data Cells: 47014010 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 27 0
      SES: 27 0
      UAS: 183 0
      Total time = 1 days 6 min 5 sec
      SF = 10167696
      CRC = 155
      LOS = 43
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      Latest 1 day time = 6 min 5 sec
      SF = 21525
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 5 sec
      SF = 21525
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082263
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      thanks ever so much.
      Last edited by kanwar786; 26-07-07 at 09:16 PM.

    6. #15
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      Quote Originally Posted by kanwar786 View Post
      i am a bit poor in understanding these stats.
      Have you read this?
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html
      I can't answer your stats questions, but reading the various stickies helps me understand what the experts are getting at.

    7. #16
      kanwar786's Avatar
      kanwar786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      yes i have read those stickies many a times but am not sure because the noise ration is very high(now at 24.9db) and everything seems OK but i am not sure about whether the ES, LOS etc figures are OK to ask to be uncapped and receive the full 8mb that my mid package entitles me to.

      My attenuation etc is fine and i am not too far from the exchange and also these figures must mean something:

      Max(Kbps): 9760 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 3264 320


      does this mean i should be able to get that speed without having any real problems because alot of other peoples stats i have seen that their 'rate' in near to the max whereas mine is way off.

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      You've been very heavily capped which has boosted your noise margin to a massive 23.6db and suppressed your sync speed to 3264kbps. Having such a high noise margin it is near impossible to give any sensible interpretation of your line stats. Your error levels are low but that is only to be expected - that's what's capping is done for.

      Your attenuation at 38db is quite reasonable and will support a much faster connection as indicated by your router max rate in your stats i.e. ~9000kbps. On ADSL2+ you may see an even higher sync figure of ~11500kbps. But not until you've solved any noise issues on your line.

      It is a good idea to fit a decent filtered faceplate to your master socket. The one you are thinking of getting has filtered and unfiltered connectors to wire your extensions to. If you have to use an extension for your router then this should be dedicated to the purpose and wired to the unfiltered connectors. If your extension is used for phones/digiboxws then you should wire it to the filtered connectors.

      Lastly, whilst your home wiring is the most likely cause of any line noise you need to exclude the line to the exchange as being part or all of the problem. For this you need to run a test with your test socket (inside your master socket assuming you have an NTE5). As you are capped your sync won't increase so you are looking at your noise margin. If it goes up with the test socket then the noise is local, If it doesn't then the noise is remote. If it goes up just a bit then possibly it is both. See the cabling anf faceplate help forum for more info.

    9. #18
      kanwar786's Avatar
      kanwar786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      as you may have read earlier in the thread my noise margin went up from

      (dB): 18.4 14.0 to 21.4 14.0 when i plugged into the master socket.

      Since then despite my router being plugged in the extension upstairs(not in master socket or test socket inside it) the noise has been even high is now at an astounding 24.4db 14.0db

      what steps should i take now?

      btw i am using filters on both master socket and extension upstaits so i don't understand where noise is coming from. Is there any other diagnostics tests one could carry out to find out? btw i have read this cabling + faceplate forum and also removed the ringwire(NUMBER 3 WIRE)

      (i would buy the ADSL nation filtered faceplate but i have a feeling thats not the issue).

      EDIT: Just did the BT quiet line test 17070 on the test socket. it was totally quiet no noise whatsoever. BT have recently within the last few months sent people who replaced the wire coming from outside to cut noise. this is not the problem. did it plugged into normal master socket as well, absolutely silent.

      I got one problem resolved. SKY have put my speed back to 4096kbps download (what it has been capped to) instead of 3264 which they did for no reason. i asked the lady why it was put on 3264kbps for no reason and she said 'tier 3 did not give us a reason'. I then told her to please make me a ticket for tier 3 so i can discuss with them why my line can only handle 4mb and what i can do to resolve this.

      She tried telling it can be for a variety of reasone eg distance from exchange etc i explained to her that i know these things and i've checked the stats and everything and there isn't really a reason for me not reaching the full speed at mid namely 8mb's.
      I told her i wanted to pinpoint the problem with Tier 3 but she said she could not do this(get a ticket with tier 3) and that the line was BT's problem and maybe i should phone them up or something. i am really frustrated.
      Last edited by kanwar786; 27-07-07 at 03:33 AM.

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      Quote Originally Posted by kanwar786 View Post
      what steps should i take now?
      The ones suggested in my previous post:
      • Fix any problems with your home wiring
      • Check there's no issues with your line to the exchange
      • Call Sky and get uncapped

    11. #20
      kanwar786's Avatar
      kanwar786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What About Second Socket?

      i habe done what you have suggested as i typed in my last post. there are no issues with the line. it is noise free. However when i phoned sky they say 'your line is only capable of 4mb' and we can't do anything about this. Please read my last pist for more information. thanks.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION