Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

    This is a discussion on Phone Socket Wires + Better speed within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Oh really? I get this: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.9 ...

    1. #21
      ppolo99's Avatar
      ppolo99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Oh really? I get this:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.9 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 10.5 db

      There is one more extension, i'll try connecting that tomorrow morning and see what happens, Thanks for your help!! appreciate it!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Ok if you use a Cordless Phone, but plug in a norma phone, the phone will not ring if the Orange (3) wire is removed from unless it's another master socket, you should only have one of those.
      Paul

    4. #23
      ppolo99's Avatar
      ppolo99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      yeah i have cordless phone connected to that socket at the moment, so removing the orange wire should be ok then?

    5. #24
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Quote Originally Posted by -Paul View Post
      Ok if you use a Cordless Phone, but plug in a norma phone, the phone will not ring if the Orange (3) wire is removed from unless it's another master socket, you should only have one of those.
      Paul
      That is not true, the micro filter will reproduce the ring even though it is still not needed. You only need it for very old phones, the ones that used to have real bells inside them.

      So you are fine to remove the orange wire.

    6. #25
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Quote Originally Posted by ppolo99 View Post
      Oh really? I get this:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.9 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 10.5 db

      There is one more extension, i'll try connecting that tomorrow morning and see what happens, Thanks for your help!! appreciate it!
      Your stats look good. You can tell if removing the orange wire helps by doing a before and after. After you remove the orange wire there may be a slight increase in noise margin and a slight decrease in line attenuation. These are both good signs. There is no need to do a before and after, but as i said before the only difference is going to be for the better once the orange wire is removed.

    7. #26
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      i removed those wires only left 5 and 2 and nothing changed i have same speed ;/

      http://upload.fkees.net/img/3444/DSC00071.JPG
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    8. #27
      ppolo99's Avatar
      ppolo99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Just noticed my other phone socket looks like this (Bottom Left):



      I cant unscrew the faceplate because it has been sealed around it and i dont want to ruin the walls (i rent). As you see that phone socket has been put there for a sky box, yet when i connected the phone with the microfilter connected i still just get the echo of my voice. Any other ideas?
      Thanks

    9. #28
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      Quote Originally Posted by ppolo99 View Post
      Just noticed my other phone socket looks like this (Bottom Left):



      I cant unscrew the faceplate because it has been sealed around it and i dont want to ruin the walls (i rent). As you see that phone socket has been put there for a sky box, yet when i connected the phone with the microfilter connected i still just get the echo of my voice. Any other ideas?
      Thanks
      It sounds as though behind that socket there may be 2 cables. One from the master socket and then the other one will link to the other extension. These cables may not be connected up and so your other extension will not work.

      As there is only one extension cable connected at the master socket there should definitely be one extension socket linked to another. As you cannot see behind this extension socket it is hard to say what is going wrong.

      Now that you have the cables connected properly at the master and at the one extension the problem can only be somewhere between the two. There is also the possibility there is no phone cable behind this socket and the problem is the other extension socket is faulty. Or even the silver socket is faulty.

      There are so many possibilities you can not really tell what is going on without seeing behind that silver extension socket.

    10. #29
      ppolo99's Avatar
      ppolo99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trafford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      damn. Would bt touch that socket? because they cant replace it since its got tv stuff in can they?

      Thanks for your help btw!

    11. #30
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Socket Wires + Better speed

      I doubt they would touch it because it is part of your internal wiring. Depends really on the engineer. If when they came out originally to do the master socket you asked them to double check the extensions were connected properly then they probably would if you were nice.

      You never know what is going on behind that socket. Only real way would be if you can break the seal using a sharp knife.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION