Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Old style BT master socket

This is a discussion on Old style BT master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, i'm currently a Virgin customer that is in the process of switching to Sky. Iam new to this ...

stevie5tapes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brighouse
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Thanks

Old style BT master socket

Hi all,
      i'm currently a Virgin customer that is in the process of switching to Sky. Iam new to this site and have a couple of questions if any one can help me?

I will be reconnecting to BT next week. I got cable installed when I moved here 4 years ago. (The previous owner had BT) I have a old style of master socket. Next to it is my cable master socket, this has a removeable faceplate which two extensions are wired to.

My first question is:

If I connect my BT master socket to my Virgin master socket (firstly removing the Virgin wires) Is this likely to cause any loss of sound / signal to my telephones?

Second question:
      I will be signing up to Sky BB mid range, I will want my router to be in my loft conversion. I have a extension lead up to the loft coming from a socket in my bedroom on the floor below. Would it be better for me to have a new socket installed in my loft wired directly to my master socket? If so can this be done using ADSL wire instead on normal phone wire, I.E change the front of my cable master socket so it has a ADSL filter built into it.

Sorry the questions are so long. Many thanks for any replies.

Cheers

Steve

2. Advertisement
      ricopico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited