Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Cable confusion - HELP

    This is a discussion on Cable confusion - HELP within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi... Ive just ordered a XTE-2005 Master Faceplate from ADSL Nation. I need a 4 to 5 metre extension cable ...

    1. #1
      Loser39's Avatar
      Loser39 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chichester, West Sussex.
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cable confusion - HELP

      Hi...

      Ive just ordered a XTE-2005 Master Faceplate from ADSL Nation.

      I need a 4 to 5 metre extension cable from the XTE-2005 Master Faceplate to my Sky router.

      Which cable type, and which type of connectors, do I need to go from the XTE 2005 ADSL socket to the Sky router 'ADSL line in' socket ?

      ...Am I right in thinking that I need CAT5e cable with RJ11 connectors at either end !

      I have tried to understand previous threads but they appear to contradict one another.

      Your help is appreciated.

      Regards,

      Mark.
      Last edited by Loser39; 29-06-07 at 12:26 PM. Reason: Incomplete.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      The thin grey cable that came with the router.

    4. #3
      Loser39's Avatar
      Loser39 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chichester, West Sussex.
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Hi,

      Thanks for your reply Saturday... I have edited my original post since you replied because it was incomplete and I was unclear.

      The thin grey cable that I use has does have identical connectors (RJ11's???) but is to short.

      I need a 5 metre cable with the same connectors, BUT I want a quality CAT5e class cable to improve my connection/noise margin & speed etc.

      Ive tried ADSL Nation and a few other suppliers but they only sell RJ11's with standard cable which surely will have detrimental effects !

      Where can I get such a cable ?

      M.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Just an ordinary RJ11 cable from a reputable supplier such as ADSLnation will be fine. As long as it is kept away from any power cables and the like you'll find that you have to go well over 10m before you start to get problems. More than that and they need to be a twisted pair to reduce the potential for interference.
      Last edited by Saturday; 29-06-07 at 01:49 PM.

    6. #5
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Quote Originally Posted by Loser39 View Post
      - - - - - - I need a 5 metre cable with the same connectors, BUT I want a quality CAT5e class cable to improve my connection/noise margin & speed etc.- - - - - - - -
      It seems the only way you can get any length RJ11 to RJ11 cable in CAT5 is to make it yourself. That's what I did to get from the XTE-2005 faceplate to my router at the other side of the house. It seems daft to me that there is no retail supply of modem leads (RJ11/RJ11) longer than a few metres and none in CAT5 at all. Surely, if slow ADSL speeds are typically the result if interference picked up by the internal phone wiring, it makes sense to run all your ADSL cabling in CAT5 or better. Of course to make such a cable yourself requires a crimping tool and new connector plugs. However, the once expensive 3-way crimpers can now be bought for under a tenner on eBay, so it's worth getting one for this and any future cabling needs.

      JaX
      Last edited by JaXanim; 29-06-07 at 02:21 PM.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Quote Originally Posted by JaXanim View Post
      It seems daft to me that there is no retail supply of modem leads (RJ11/RJ11) longer than a few metres and none in CAT5 at all.
      I don't know where you were looking but you can easily buy RJ11 leads up to 20m.

      The reason you don't see RJ11 with Cat5 cable is because you don't need 4 twisted pairs - just 1. On a 5m RJ11 you don't even need a twisted pair (a straight pair will be fine), though it won't hurt of course.

    8. #7
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      I don't know where you were looking but you can easily buy RJ11 leads up to 20m.
      You're right of course. I was more hooked up on the absence of CAT5 grade RJ11 leads than the length. What I'm getting at is that using standard 2-core phone cable to wire up a modem say 20m away seems like setting up another phone extension, when that's what you're trying to minimise. Is there no such thing as single twisted pair CAT5 cable or is it a different CAT? I notice my BT drop line is in two twisted pairs.
      JaX

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      surely a longer ethernet cable would be better - rules out the extention being an issue in the future??...

    10. #9
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable confusion - HELP

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      surely a longer ethernet cable would be better - - - - - - -
      It's as long as it's broad really. I prefer to have the modem by the pc so I can see the activity. I think you can manage your connection better that way, but it's personal choice really. There's also the issue of what's acceptable to other non-computer orientated members of the household. A flashing modem connected to our main socket in the dining room wouldn't go down well with SWMBO!
      JaX
      Last edited by JaXanim; 01-07-07 at 10:42 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION